We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Raithwaite Hall is up a long driveway set on some beautiful grounds just outside the main part of Whitby. Arriving in Whitby and driving through to the hotel we were delighted to drive down into the hotel and find in nestled into the hills of the grounds. We parked the car and walked down to the reception/entrance and were a bit confused about how to get our bags down from the hill where the carpark was (as there was some construction on the road into the hotel). However we were told promptly that the porter (I can't remember his name, but he was lovely!) would take my fiance to the car in the Club Car and get the bags when we were ready.
Pippa at the front desk was lovely, very inviting and told us all about the property. She also explained how to use the Spa/Pool facilities, which was very handy as we had visited other hotels days before and (as we arent used to nicer hotels!) werent sure how it all worked (eg not bringing your own towels, taking your robe from your room)!
Our room overlooked the beautifully manicured garden, which the porter recommended we walk around (unfortunately we didnt get around to it!).
Soon after we had settled the porter had bought up a bottle of champagne and a handwritten note to say happy birthday to me, which was in two days. I was touched, very personal and thoughtful.
We used the pool and hot-tub, which was lovely (only annoying thing was the people doing laps...).
We hadnt booked for dinner but we wanted to eat light and have a few drinks so we sat in Poachers Bar. The atmosphere was intimate and we had our section of the lounge all to ourselves. The young waiter was so friendly and offered to check if there was a table for us in the restaurant if we wanted a more substantial meal. Turns out we didnt need it - the food in Poachers Bar was awesome. I had the best steak sandwich I've ever had there - beautiful beef with grilled onions and soft, smooth goats cheese. My fiance loved his burger, complete with hole in the top so he could dip his chips into his egg yolk! We returned to our room where we had bottles of water and a glass on the bedside tables - very nice touch.
Breakfast the next morning was also fantastic, the buffet is set up almost like a little market stall - so intimate and cosy. Only thing was they forgot to bring us our toast! We didn't bother to mention it as we had such yummy food for breakfast that we really didn't need it. Even on check-out the girl at reception was lovely and took a real interest into my fiance and my trip (we were doing a little road trip through North Yorkshire for the week) and we left feeling a lot of love for Raithwaite Hall.
We visited a different hotel each night for four nights around the Dales so my fiance and I were always comparing hotels - we both said Raithwaite Hall had awesome service and was just that little bit posh - but not too posh that the staff were at your service, they were more like nice welcoming friends. We both want to return, (even just to try dinner in the restauran this time!) and relax on the comfy beds with garden views from the balcony.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the building with a small balcony overlooking the garden - we never hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDreamin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjman499, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
TravelDreamin82
We are so excited by your exceptional review of our country retreat.
We will definitely be sharing your truly motivational comments with our team!
We are so pleased our retreat was the right setting for you to spend your birthday celebrations and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    408
    191
    74
    24
See reviews for
284
1,321
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Beautiful place, superb food but the best thing about this place is the staff. They are all so friendly and can't do enough for you. I stayed at the hotel for a conference with work but I look forward to returning with my fiance!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cookier14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjman499, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Cookier14
Thank you for such a glowing review! We really appreciate your inspirational words and will be sure to share them with our ladies and gentlemen!
We look forward to giving you a warm welcome back with your fiancé.
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds uk
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for 1 night and overall was very impressed.The spa and facilities
were well above average as was the breakfast.Dinner in the restaurant
was ok but the service was overfussy.The break was a luxury for less
deal booked direct with the hotel online. There was an issue with the
price quoted and that charged but was sorted out in our favour.
Will stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjman499, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
stevemardon,
Thank you for taking the time to review Raithwaite Hall and our team. We appreciate your feedback regarding dinner service and billing and will be sure to consistently make improvements where necessary. We are ecstatic that you intend to stay with us again and we will be delighted to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

i stayed with a party of 18 for a hen party on saturday night, my first visit to the hotel and was not disappointed. The staff were helpful from the moment we arrived offering to carry your bags to your room etc. The room itself was a double and to the highest standard, everything was spotless, I couldnt find one fault. The most disappointing if anything was perhaps the evening meal, it was of a high standard although the portions slightly too small. The breakfast on the morning was outstanding, the quality of produce used and the chef to cook you an omelette fried egg etc was fantastic. I actually prefered the breakfast to the previous meal.
We then spent the day in the spa which was lovely, again everything clean and to the very highest standard.
I would not hesitate to stay here again, Im actually looking to book up again for my 30th next year

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickip01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjman499, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
vickip01,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear you were happy with your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to our ladies and gentlemen, and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in our spa.
We look forward to helping you celebrate another occasion in the future
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for 1 night and whilst the hotel is of a good standard in terms of bedrooms, public areas and furnishings, there are issues that need addressing to make this a 4 star establishment. The food was disappointing and rather bland for our evening meal but breakfast was excellent. Service in the restaurant was generally good and the wine list was wide and varied.
The spa is pleasant and relaxing but... you cannot get any snacks or drinks (tea/coffee/soft drinks) unless you get dressed and go upstairs to the bar area. This is very irritating and inconvenient if you are waiting to have a treatment and wish to use the pool, and needs addressing to make this a good experience. The relaxation room used pre and post treatment is nice but attention to detail is required to make sure used glasses are removed from previous occupants and the tea selection is topped up. The lockers are very temperamental and don’t always re-open with your chosen code.
Whilst some of these issues are not necessarily significant they do need sorting out to entice me to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjman499, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
tomboy11,
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback.
For health and safety reasons we are unable to provide any snacks or drinks from the bar in the pool area but we do have complimentary water available. We really appreciate your feedback regarding the organisation of the relaxation room and the spa lockers as we are always looking to improve for our guest’s benefit.
We hope to see you again in the future
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in one of the 2 storey lodges (402). Service and staff were excellent. My wife loved the Spa and we enjoyed the Bar/Afternoon tea (even if it is a bit pricey). Breakfast was excellent. The lodge was a mixture - nice balcony area, great bed and excellent towels / dressing gowns. On the negative side, the furnishings seemed to be a bit sparse. No hairdryer, minibar, few toiletries - simple things that could be fixed. The building finish was poor in areas - maybe there was a rush to get it done before opening day.

All in all the hotel is a great place to stay. A short walk to the sea and a short drive to Whitby. The price requires excellence - it's not there yet, but with a few easy actions it could be.

Room Tip: I stayed in a lodge - the rooms in the main hotel are probably better value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjman499, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Joe d,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are extremely pleased your wife took advantage of our spa facilities and you were able to enjoy your time at Poacher’s Bar.
We really appreciate your feedback regarding your accommodation and apologise that the hairdryer in your room was not pointed out to you on arrival.
We currently do not offer a mini bar in each guest room but instead we do have a complimentary fridge that can be placed in to the guest rooms which is highlighted in our guest directory.
We are sorry to hear the toiletries provided were not to your satisfaction as we have had a lot of positive feedback regarding the complimentary Molten Brown products.
We will be sure to pass on your positive comments regarding our team’s service.
We hope to welcome you back to Raithwaite Hall soon
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely mid-week break here. Food is of a high 'delicious' standard. Staff are very helpful and the room was comfortable with a nice view over the tiered garden. We drove the car down to Sandsend and parked there for free in the car space alongside the main road. Lovely walk along the cliffs to Whitby, (or there is a bus service as well) the walk meant walking by the road for a short while as the tide was in - past the golf course and then take the footpath sign Cleveland Way which takes you into Whitby. The tide was out on the way back so we walked along the beach to where we had left the car, bracing and very refreshing. The hotel has very good spa facilities but I was disappointed and unimpressed by the quality of a facial I had booked which was very perfunctory. Apart from that I would highly recommend Raithwaite Hall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjman499, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Emerald130944,
Thank you for your great review. We are so delighted you had a lovely stay with us!
We very much appreciate your feedback regarding the spa and as always will strive to make improvements where necessary for the satisfaction of our guests.
We hope to see you again
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
809 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,114 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,066 reviews
15.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,856 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Property: Raithwaite Estate
Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing