We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“picture postcard location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Streanaeshalch

Spectacular views from the front of the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular views from the front of the property
A 'home from home' ... ... all year round
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Spectacular views from the front of the property
A 'home from home' ...
... all year round
Fully equipped kitchen
A great place to entertain or be entertained
Sleep well ...
... in light and airy bedrooms
Newly refurbished bathroom with walk-in shower ...
... or relax in bubbles
A great holiday for you in great surroundings
near the impressive Larpool Viaduct (view from balcony).
The Larpool Viaduct
Floorplan
Whitby Abbey
Robin Hoods Bay (15 minutes drive away)
Looking towards Whitby from Sandsend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
59chrissi...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“picture postcard location”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

very well equipped cottage with amazing views of river Esk and Larpool viaduct. spread over 3 floors, good clean bedding and plenty of towels, all you need for a home from home if you want to cater for yourselves. sainsburys 5mins drive away as is Whitby, you can also walk over up the hill and over viaduct. very peacefull and enjoyable stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2017
We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay, we have really tried to make the house a "home from home" so thank you for such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitkatkel...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Accommodation was absolutely delightful. With 2x children under 4 & 3 adults it was like home from home in much prettier surroundings! The location was perfect for sightseeing. We had fabulous weather for the entire week we were there and enjoyed relaxing on the balcony in the evening. Would highly recommend to friends and family

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluedormo...
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location.”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is a very comfortable, well equipped cottage. The location is a little way out of Whitby, which was perfect for us as we relished the quiet; the views of the river and the steam locos just across the river. Richard and Judith (owners) were really helpful throughout the process.

I was initially daunted by the 25 min walk into Whitby, as it meant crossing the viaduct in the picture. But after a short, steepish few mins, the rest of the walk was lovely and it was great to come down into Whitby, seeing the whole town laid out in front of us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benbo441
Deryshire
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic short break!”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Fantastic spacious, clean, comfortable house, in a lovely position, with a view of the river and Steam trains going past!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottiecon...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is the second time we've been. Love staying at Streanaeshalch when we come to Whitby.
Fabulous accomadation & fabulous views. What's not to love?.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
So pleased to hear when our guests enjoy their stay, so many of our guests return again and again.
Richard and Judith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
1 review
“Lovely location”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The 2nd time we've stayed in these cottages. A lovely location only metres from the River & Viaduct. The house was well equipped & had everything we needed for the week with 3 children ranging from 5 months to 14 years.

Would highly recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Streaneashalch and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
23plotts
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful accommodation in a fantastic setting”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A lovely welcoming clean and extremely well equipped home. It is obvious the owners care about their guests experience. Plenty of fresh fluffy towels, (such a bonus not having to pack towels) plenty of bathrooms, fantastically equipped kitchen with good pans and utensils. Beds very comfy with good bedlinen. I am allergic to pet hair so it's great that this property did not have any pet hair on the furniture or floors. Location unbeatable so peaceful and relaxing and we had fantastic hot weather so when it was too hot to move we had a wonderful setting to enjoy seeing lots of wildlife including seals kingfishers and ducks galore!. We have stayed in many properties in this location but this is the very best of them all and we can't wait to come back. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything, especially the well equipped kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Thank you for your fabulous review, we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday. We also have family members who are allergic to pet hair so we keep the property pet free for this reason. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing