We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Yorkshire hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnyvale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnyvale House
Ranked #94 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“More Yorkshire hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We found more genuine Yorkshire hospitality at Whitby, this time with our hosts Judith & Mike who were very helpful and friendly. The property was very quaint, and had a beautiful modern ensuite bathroom. The rooms were very clean and well presented, and free wifi was available, which was great for us to check emails and arrange future accommodation. Mike cooked a great breakfast to start us well for the day, while Judith was the perfect hostess offering plenty of tips for local sightseeing ideas.

For your information ... The seaside town of Whitby has a classic fishing village feel with much history (Capt James Cook began his naval career here) and so is very popular. We arrived on the bank holiday Monday and the town was packed ... it took a little while for us to find a place to stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent b&b. A very warm welcome. Rooms and en-suite bathroom spotless. Excellent information in rooms on what to do in Whitby and surrounding areas. Breakfast fantastic, all cooked fresh to order by Mike. Judith and Mike brilliant hosts. Very good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed 3 nights at Sunnyvale in March 2013.
The friendly hosts were around to welcome us and offer help with bags. Our room and bathroom were very clean and tidy and had everything we needed for a short break.
The breakfast was freshly cooked and the produce was of a high standard, it really set us up for the day!
Overall this hotel offers excellent value for money and i would be happy to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1 which was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nothing to fault in any way. Spotless rooms, excellent breakfast, as good has our previous two visits. As other reviewers have stated, no need to consider any other place to stop.
Very good location. Excellent information in room regarding facilities in Whitby, even if your a regular visitor to Whitby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Judith and mike are wonderful hosts, mike does a mean brdakfast. Judith an excellent hostess. Rooms are very clean and cosy. We have stayed there for the past 4years, wouldnt entertain going anywhere else in whitby. Xx

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Mike & Judith give you a very warm welcome nothing is to much trouble the rooms are very clean & very well cared for & the breakfast is second to none they have a very wide menu we will see you again next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mc_greenslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Three of us stayed in the family room,which was of a very high standard, and the en-suite was of an exceptionally high standard with its walk in quadrant shower, and a corner bath, and his and hers wash basins,everything was spic and span. The breakfast was without exception spot on. The hosts Judith and Mike were very nice indeed. Give it a try you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pathway Guest House
The Pathway Guest House
#61 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 48 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#28 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyvale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyvale House

Property: Sunnyvale House
Address: 12 Normanby Terrace, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyvale House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing