We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Youth Hostel - NOT A HOTEL”
Review of Larpool Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Larpool Hall
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Oxford UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Youth Hostel - NOT A HOTEL”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Very over priced for a hostel and if I had of known the set up I wouldn't have booked. Had rang out of scrambled eggs for breakfast but you could get fried eggs! how does that work. LOL did make me giggle - oh and shared tables for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunnyFishOxfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
21
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Went to a wedding at the hotel, we were told it was their first wedding, I found that hard to believe, the dining room was beautifully set, the service was excelent, the staff are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are large with a good sized bathroom, the views are astounding, the hotel is close to town but you feel as though you are in the country, the grounds are very well kept. I can honestly say that any bride would never forget her wedding if she held it there, and ll the memories would be happy ones. I cannot praise this hotel enough. The only problem was that we forgot to take the camera.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Marketed as a country house hotel however is actually more like a youth hostel, lots of notices every "Dear Guest........" Room was large but had peeling wallpaper, the smell from the drains in the ensuite was very unplesent and the room was covered in dust. On the plus side the hotel looks good from the outside and the bed was clean! Would not be worth paying more than £45 a night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grommit35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is the fourth HF hotel I've stayed at. Like the others it's an older building, done up sympathetically (but with creaky floor boards), somewhat regimented when it comes to eating and of course no TV or toiletries, save some soap. The meal times are set and you need to choose what you want the next evening, the night or maybe the morning before. Neither has been a problem for me, in fact I think it makes a lot of sense. The food is very good and plenty of it. Everyone sits at communal tables (5) and are encouraged to fill tables as you enter.

I'm was there for the guided walks, of which there is a choice depending on your ability. You get to meet other people, single or couples usually and having a common interest means there's plenty to talk about during and after the walks.

The bar is good as they usually are but a little expensive, due I assume to a fairly low turnover.

As usual, the single person wanting their own room, attracts a suppliment, for which you get a smaller room. my bed was short and close to the kitchen at the rear. There was some associated noise from 7am onwards, but a lot less than you usually get in such rooms. I didn't see how big or small the twin/double rooms were.

No TV I think is good on such a stay, as each evening the social activities (quiz, talk etc.) were well attended. I don't know what happens on non-guided walk weeks or days, but I know in their brochure/web site, they do other activities too such as Bridge, various sorts of dancing, singing etc. You can of course, do your own thing. I also don't know if clients from 'lastrooms' etc. get the bountious packed lunch that I've always had there.

As usual a pleasant and quiet place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

This hotel is set in beautiful, quiet, picturesque surroundings. As advertised there was no TV in the room, neither was there shampoo or shower gel in the ensuite, just two small tablets of soap. There was some peeling of paint in the room . A note advises that if you stay a week , towels will only be changed on day four but there are not adequate rails for drying them. The breakfast was very good with a large choice and is eaten at communal tables . The time slot for breakfast was 7.45 till 9.00am but before we had finished at 8.30 the linen was stripped from the other tables making us feel we should be out of there. As we booked through laterooms.com we did not pay the room rate of £99 for our night . We do however feel that £99 is too much. The hotel is advertised as 4 crowns/stars but lacks what we would expect from such a high classification.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,049 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
827 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,095 reviews
1.0 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larpool Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larpool Hall

Property: Larpool Hall
Address: Larpool Hall Larpool Drive, Whitby YO22 4ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Larpool Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larpool Hall is an elegant Georgian mansion with splendid views over the Esk Valley and towards the sea at Whitby, about 1 1/2 miles away. The imposing grandeur of the building is complemented by its excellent modern facilities, including a large lounge and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Larpool Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larpool Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing