We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two words - Spot on!”
Review of The Waverley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waverley
Ranked #25 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two words - Spot on!”
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I'd read really great things about this guesthouse before I came, but even then I was still very impressed by the quality of the place. One thing that really shines through is the attention to detail, everything is taken care of, and if anything isn't then Steve and Julie will make sure it is, if it is humanly possible. The place really does feel like a home, I couldn't fault anything about it. Also, the breakfast is phenomenal.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vargas85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
210
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We had a wonderful time with Steven and Julie, nothing was too much trouble, We have told many of our friends about the Waverley, and we look forward to our next visit with
relish! Many thanks to you both.
Regards Andy & Susan

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Hosts could not have been better. Room spotless and breakfast superb.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k9oafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We had an absolutely lovely stay at this B+B . Our hosts were friendly and helpful and went the extra mile to make us welcome .
Glorious breakfast , clean ,comfortable and tasteful decor in the rooms . Highly reccomended -and make sure you give the homemade banana preserve a go!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sianbrownlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUSHDEN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

My wife & I chose The Waverley following the recommendations posted by fellow T / A's. As my title and our rating suggests, everything within The Waverley was faultless and the only reason I have marked down the location is because there is limited car-parking space which can be a minor problem at busy times. Otherwise, the decor & cleanliness of the bedrooms, the dining room and the lounge is impeccable. The superb range of choice for breakfast is remarked on elsewhere and during our stay over Easter, warm hot-cross buns were offered as was an Easter egg containing mini-eggs for each table on Easter Sunday. What a lovely touch, but apparently, in conversation with Waverley returnees, so typical of Stephen & Julie to think of something a little bit special before you have thought of it yourself. Stephen is always around to offer advice & guidance on the area & there is a wide range of Whitby information available with certainly the most comprehensive guide to restaurants & pubs in town together with their comments on suitability or otherwise catering for all tastes. We would not hesitate to recomend this house to anyone and Thank-you Stephen & Julie for making our visit to Whitby so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whittworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed at the Waverly for a long weekend in March. The room was absolutely spotless, an excellent size and even has little extra's that you'd expect in a 5* hotel i.e.shower and hand gels, fresh milk, cotton wool buds etc. The owners Julie & Stephen are extremely welcoming and friendly providing excellent advice on walks and places to eat and visit . The breakfast was fantastic and really sets you up for the day. This is the best B&B we have stayed in by a considerable distance and I would recommend anyone planning a trip to Whitby to book The Waverley!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen001Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Have been returning to The Waverley for many years and hope to do so for the foreseeable future. Present owners have maintained and improved on the previous high standards. Always found the accommodation comfortable with excellent breakfasts and a consistent warm welcome on arrival. A credit to Whitby!

Jayjay

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#21 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pathway Guest House
The Pathway Guest House
#61 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#23 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley

Property: The Waverley
Address: 17 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waverley 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality AA 4 star Guest House built in 1898, The Waverley has been offered accommodation for the discerning traveler for more than a century. With an enviable reputation for a friendly welcome, we are passionate about providing quality service and ensuring that our guests enjoy an exceptional breakfast using local and organic produce for breakfast and Fairtrade tea and coffee in the guest rooms.Situated on Whitby's West Cliff, many or our rooms have panoramic views of the Abbey yet are within a short stroll of the many attractions and regular events in Whitby.Open all year round, we offer a flexible range of double, twin and single en-suite facilities with high standards of cleanliness and attention to detail at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley Hotel Whitby
Waverley Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing