We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waverley
Ranked #28 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in the first week of March with my boyfriend. I chose this guest house based on the reviews on here and can honestly say we were not disappointed in the slightest!

The Waverley is absolutely immaculate. Our bedroom was spotlessley clean, tastefully decorated and had quite possibly one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in! The Waverley Bear was a cute touch in the room too! It was well appointed (tea/coffee/hot choc, kettle, hairdryer etc) and warm, with a view across to the Abbey from our window (we were in room 3), just the kind of room to crash out in after a long day out exploring in what was a very chilly and windswept Whitby!

Our cooked breakfasts were lovely, tasty and set us up for the day. The dining room again, is spotless, but not stiff like some places I have stayed (where you can only whisper in case you disturb someone!)

The guest house was easy to find from the directions on the confirmation email and I had no problem parking my car at the top of the road, a 2 minute walk away.

David and Tania are wonderful welcoming hosts, they really have a passion for making the Waverly a lovely place to stay. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this guest house to anyone, and I would definitely go back if I was planning a trip up to Whitby again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leannef55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at The Waverley, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for leaving a wonderful review of ourselves and The Waverley, we do take great pride in trying to make sure our guests have a great stay with us, regardless of the weather.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards D&T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 348 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great room, superb breakfast and very good value in a town where very good value is hard to find. All of the guest house is spotless and clean and nearly as warm as the welcome and service from Dave and Tania. I have stayed in hotels and guest houses for the last 20 years of work but this one is a better than 99% of all that I have stayed in, and that includes the very expensive that I treat myself to now and again. I hope this helps anyone looking for a bed in Whitby

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed just for one night, we were welcomed by David who knew who I was without me even saying a word !! We were shown to our room, which was lovely and clean, breakfast was excellent !!! Best breakfast I have had in a long while, would tell friends about this b & b

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Waverley for one night and due to the welcome from Dave and Tania, wished we had booked for longer, however we shall return. The views from our bedroom were fantastic and it is located in a central area for visiting the whole of what Whitby has to offer. Breakfast was first rate, room spotless and warm and of agood size. Glenn and Bev.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Overall a very pleasant B&B. Service was excellent and the welcome was warm, freindly and informative. We had room 6 which was clean and the en suite was like very clean, which is not always the case even in more expensive places. The location is only a ten minute walk from the town centre. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. On road parking can be a problem but there is, if space is available, free parking 3 to 4 mins walk away on the Crescent. May be more of an issue in high season. We were lucky and David had space behind the hotel. No hesistation in recommending this establishment, and David and Tanya are very good hosts. If you are new to Whitby the Magpie Restaurant is highly recommended even if you have to queue.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_calvert84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from a lovely night at the Waverley.
Great location, just 5 minute walk to the town centre.
We had room 9 on the top floor which had a lovely view of the abbey. Great tasty breakfast and very friendly hosts in David and Tanya.
If you want a B&B in Whitby then look no further.
We will be back. Peter and Viki

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

booked in on a cold windy day but tania & david wear very good thay put a heater in room for me to worm up but heating was on any way room well apointed and clean bathroom fantastic very good breakfast hope to stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The White House
The White House
#42 of 152 in Whitby
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#25 of 152 in Whitby
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heathfield Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley

Address: 17 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $62 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waverley 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality AA 4 star Guest House built in 1898, The Waverley has been offered accommodation for the discerning traveler for more than a century. With an enviable reputation for a friendly welcome, we are passionate about providing quality service and ensuring that our guests enjoy an exceptional breakfast using local and organic produce for breakfast and Fairtrade tea and coffee in the guest rooms.Situated on Whitby's West Cliff, many or our rooms have panoramic views of the Abbey yet are within a short stroll of the many attractions and regular events in Whitby.Open all year round, we offer a flexible range of double, twin and single en-suite facilities with high standards of cleanliness and attention to detail at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Waverley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley Hotel Whitby
Waverley Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing