We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to get your head down”
Review of Seacliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seacliffe Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Reviewed March 18, 2014

After a disasterous last minute cancellation in January for my partners birthday by a hotel up the road due to a change in management I looked around for an alternative place to stay that would allow a dog...
I came across the Seacliffe and booked for March. The person I spoke to on the phone to book was very helpful, gave me lots of information regarding choices of rooms and the options available for taking our dog.
The customer service had already surpassed the previous hotel I had booked with even though we had not yet arrived!
The other hotel had seemed completely uncaring that despite being booked three months in advance, they had ruined the long weekend I had planned for my boyfriends birthday by cancelling with two days notice, and wanted to charge us more to honour it! Anyway, I digress...
We travelled up for two nights bed and breakfast on Friday and were not at all disappointed with the service!
The dog friendly room was not large but was very clean and comfortable. We did not need a large room as we planned to be out walking with him most of the day anyway.
The first night was very quiet but we could hear some foot noise from people above on the second night indicating that the walls/floors are not very soundproof but it did not disturb us or prevent us from enjoying the stay.
There was tea and coffee available and a nice large shower ensuite in the room with a lovely big window that looked over the cricket pitch.
The breakfast was lovely and both mornings they had already laid out a table in the bar for us so the dog could sit with us whilst we ate.
The staff were lovely - especially Paul (?) who was very friendly, helpful and welcoming.
Despite towing a young border collie around with us - who was very excited to be somewhere new - we did not feel like we were imposing at all.
We had a lovely couple of days around Whitby town and at the Abbey and had a relaxing drink in the bar of the Seacliffe on the first night - again, with the dog, and we would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to be near the beach, have a friendly and welcoming atmosphere, and/or wants to take a dog with them.
It is about a 10minute walk into town and wifi was available on request, which was very useful for once we were in the room for the night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I4252LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Seacliffe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 217 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

Shocking!! The owner of this hotel is a black heart. First he runs down his staff to me. Then I end up paying an extra 2.25pound for chips which should have been with the meal. was from a freezer and the fish crougons was not crougons at all but something from a box which was thrown into old oil. I had to remove the cover. The staff working for him was so scared of him that he lied in order not to be told off...how sad is that? So I paid R167.00 for a cup of coffee.
This is so shocking I cannot believe he made me pay that money after I told him that I was not told the chips was extra.... plus the meal was inedible.
Mr Hotellier... you are so desperate for money... maybe you should look at your food... you clearly have problems...

Room Tip: Dont stay at this place. He will milk you dry.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank moonlioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Arrived to a very helpful/welcoming reception. The manager gave us two keys and said pick the room we liked best. We chose room 21 with a sea view, it was very clean and had obviously just had a fresh coat of paint. We had our dog with us and he was made to feel very welcome however a young member of staff could not provide a drinking bowl for him when we asked at reception even though the manager did only a few hours earlier. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection on the menu. The location was very good, 10 mins walk to the harbor. If we return to Whitby we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: 21 is a sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just visited Whitby for a two night break with our dog. We decided to try somewhere a little different and ended up at The Seacliffe. The room was clean BUT I have to say the bed did not suit my husband and myself as it had wooden latts (IKEA type?). We both had very poor nights sleep-maybe this type of bed suited other guests though. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful and as promised it is ok to have your dog with you for meals if you are happy to have them in the small bar. We must stress that we were not unhappy with our visit it was just that the double bed was not as comfy as we thought.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We only stayed one night at this hotel and found it satisfactory. Room was small but well appointed. The shower was wonderful, one of the best we encountered on our travels in the U.K.
Breakfast was good , the porridge was excellent!
Some staff need a little bit more training, although they were very friendly.
On the whole you are paying for the location of this property, which has the view and the quite close proximity to Whitby attractions.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Arrived on a Friday afternoon and left on the Sunday. Pleasant welcome and check in. Had room on 2nd floor at the rear (number19) overlooking cricket pitch which we could also had our dog in if we had brought her. Hotel clean and welcoming. Pouring down Friday evening so reception got us a taxi..no problem. Late key provided. Parked on roadside...loads of free street parking and a few spaces in front of the hotel. Fantastic views over the sea and harbour entrance. The room was not large but was enough for us with flat screen tv, coffee tea and biscuits (replenished) and very comfortable bed. We slept well both nights. Had no problem with the wind as a previous reviewer and the breakfast was cooked to perfection exactly as we ordered. In fact it was probably the best breakfast we have ever had when staying in a hotel.
The price was probably slightly higher than the accommodation was worth but with full bookings and repeat customers they must be doing something right.
Spot on location for Whitby and trips out.

Room Tip: Second floor at the rear was good for us...very quiet
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emeraldcassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here at the Weekend. We booked a family room but it was way too small, so we had the two rooms on top floor, at the owners discretion we were not charged full rates so that was a great touch and a god deal for us :)
The rooms were fairly clean, beds were comfortable and clean.
The location is perfect as you have nice sea views and are only a few minutes walk (down steps) in to Whitby centre.

The negatives are:
The bedside lamps in room 21 are very dirty and full of dust and hair inside (may seem picky but as you bend over to turn them on and see that, its not nice)
The breakfast seemed like it was microwaved, cold and warm beans together, white fatty bacon, sure it was not grilled in any way. Plenty of drinks and cereals were on offer though :)

Overall, for us it was good value for money, but at £100 per night per room on average I could not honestly say it's worth that much, maybe £60 per night per room would be more reasonable. Also the top rooms have a shower on the bath but you can not stand up to take a shower, we were warned of this but because it was only one night, it was not a problem.
The top floor was very noisy as the wind was battering the building, of course this is not a fault of the owners but should be taken into consideration when pricing.
None of us had a good nights sleep, but only because of the strong winds.

Room Tip: Only stay in the top rooms if it is not very windy...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliffe Hotel

Address: 12 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: $122 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seacliffe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seacliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing