We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great cottage in a great location.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nomadic_Y...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A superb cottage located in the heart of Whitby. With everything you could ever need within walking distance you won't need to take the car out.

Everything you could ever need is supplied within the cottage (with the exception of towels) and being located adjacent to the whitby railway - it's a great place to see the North Yorkshire Moors Railway (avoid at all costs if you hate trains - the cottage is so close it vibrates as the large steam trains pass) - our toddler loved waving to the passengers as the train passed and waiting for the trains became a daily ritual.

The only grumble being the hard mattress in the master bedroom - my wife and I woke up each morning feeling stiff and aching - but acknowledge that this is a personal thing so your milage may vary!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade T
Hucknall, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely fabulous cottage”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for a week in Clickety clack cottage. It was decorated in a modern and clean way and has all modern amenities such as a dishwasher and washing machine.
The children loved looking out for trains and watching the boats on the river esk. The beds were comfy and the bedrooms were spacious. The unconventional bunk beds were great.....the kids loved them especially the fact they weren't too high.
The only downside was it was incredibly warm even without the heating on so the windows had to be always open but there was a large fan in the cottage we we used each day to cool the cottage down in the living area.
The cottage has it's own parking space which was great and there is a small garden area to the back with a picnic table and washing line.
The cottage is ideally placed for the town centre and beach. Both only 5 to 15 min walk away.
Wonderful place to stay with children and very good value for money. We will def be back and looking forward to it!!x

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great holiday at Clickety- Clack Cottage. It sounds like you had a wonderful time exploring the delights of the local area and thank you so much for taking the time to respond to assist other guests when selecting the perfect holiday cottage in Whitby. Thank you also for alerting us regarding the matter of the drains and wish to assure you that we have since attended to the matter, we are so pleased this did not overshadow your stay. It would be our pleasure to have you stay in the future and are so pleased you would hope to come back sometime – what better testament could we ask for!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roecliffe
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
newtown
Reviewed September 13, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Date of stay: May 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Biasbowl
Skegness
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent.....but..”
Reviewed September 23, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Lovely cottage with all mod cons. Views of Whitby and next to heritage railway line.
Double glazed and centrally heated, 8 minutes walk from pubs and restaurants.
However, it was spoiled by the inadequate lighting in the bathroom, and possibly the most uncomfortable pair of sofas I have ever sat on!

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and quiet situation
Liked least: Poor bathroom lighting and uncomfortable seating.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe
Reviewed September 16, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing