We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elizabeth House
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family and I have just enjoyed 3 nights at Elizabeth house self catering holiday apartments with the added bonus of breakfast at Sandpiper House. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and one which we fully intend to repeat. The apartment was well equipped, modern and absolutely spotless clean. It's in a central location meaning that once we had parked up there was no need to move the car (loads of on street parking round about). Best of all was the hospitality from the owners. You genuinely felt that nothing was too much trouble and they were really friendly and accommodating. If you're thinking of a stay in Whitby I would highly recommend this place. We've been to Whitby at Easter for the last 3 years and none of the previous choices of accommodation are even remotely comparable.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynepain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 152 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just come back from an enjoyble short break in Apartment 1. It was our first trip to Whitby and Peter and Manetta were very welcolming. It was my Birthday and our Anniversary weekend, and the stay at Elizabeth house made the weekend.

We would certainly return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

stayed in apartment 2, Elizabeth house. after a lovely welcome from Peter we settled into the apartment it was ideal for us warm and cosy with everything we needed,it was our first time in Whitby and Peter gave us a map and pointed out the good pubs and cafes. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in Apartment 2, Elizabeth House, an ideal location for the cliffs, town centre and also near to pannett park and museum, a perfect apartment for two people. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bed is honestly the most comfortable I have slept in for years! Peter and Manetta (owners) are very friendly and welcoming, and are just across the road at the Sandpiper in case we needed anything, which we didn't as everything was just right in the apartment (even tea and coffee sachets were in the kitchen, which were most welcome after our long train journey!). I will definitely be booking here again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay in Whitby, we stayed in Apartment number two in Elizabeth house, which is just across the road from Sandpiper House. Peter and Manetta who own and run these B&B are really friendly and made us feel very welcome. The apartment was very nice, clean cosy and very comfortable everything we needed was there for us. The breakfasts were lovely, there was a great selection of cereals etc. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to my family and friends. Next time we go to Whitby we will stay at the Sandpiper as we were made very welcome and it was a very nice weekend overall

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Warm and welcoming studio apartment, which provided us with everything we required for a very competitive price. Furniture was clean and modern, and the bed was extremely comfortable! Crisp white sheets, fluffy duvet, and plump pillows gave us a great nights sleep both nights. Proprietors were five minutes walk away, and extremely helpful. Fantastic location with easy access to town centre. Would be more than happy to return, considering the wonderful staff, excellent facilities, location, price and much more. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranbyRoadZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

WE stayed at the elizabeth house bottom apartment with my brother and his wife , Peter and Manetta was very nice most helpful and pleasant, apartment was very nice and comfortable home from home every thing in you need , washer, dishwasher brill if you have kids , very near the beach , the breakfast also top dog NOT swimming in fat . dont know what some people are whinging about if they want smoke salmon for breakfast and a jaccuzzi in their room try the Hilton

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House

Address: 12 John Street, Whitby YO21 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Price Range: $81 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elizabeth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing