We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabeth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elizabeth House
Ranked #3 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Elizabeth House which is owned by Peter and Manetta Croft. As soon as we arrived, we were instantly welcomed by him and introduced to the apartment. As soon as we walked in, we were amazed by the facilities and appliances the apartment was fitted with. Television, dishwasher, free wifi, you name it, the place had it! We could see the apartment was an extremely clean place, the beds were very comfortable with fresh bedding and the bathroom contained new towels, shower caps, cups, hand wash and hand moisturiser. It was a quiet place, a peaceful environment, a very short walk to the beach too! The parking was very good as you could park right outside the apartment. The surroundings were also very handy. As we were staying in the apartment, we self-catered and having shops nearby was very useful such as two convenience stores and a fresh bakery round the corner. Within the living room, entertainment was provided such as a variety of books, games, CD's and even a sewing kit. Peter who owns Elizabeth House was very friendly, helpful and efficient. He was only across the road if you needed anything and he let us know all the best places to eat in Whitby. Overall, for a family of four, there was enough space in the apartment and the price was also very reasonable. We would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    20
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

we stayed 2 nights in june the apartment was very clean and had everything you
required. The owners were very helpfull and were always available to answer any questions.
I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Elizabeth House in July and really enjoyed it. The apartment wasn't massive, but when you only need a place to sleep and shower, it doesn't really matter. It was very clean and we went across the road to the Sandpiper for breakfast, which was great. I would recommend it as a good place to stay in Whitby as it was only a short walk from the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hullgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at Elizabeth House Apt 3 in July and checked the reviews on here before booking, to be honest we were disappointed, the apartment was tiny, too small for all 4 of us and the sofas in the living room the most uncomfortable I have ever sat on! The apartment was by no means luxury, the crockery in the kitchen looked like it had come straight from the 70s, and the toilet didn't even have a hand basin in it to wash your hands, you have to go to the shower room for a sink (which was also tiny!)
The breakfast however was delicious and the couple who run the apartments were very attentive & helpful. I got the impression that the B & B was more modern and luxurious than the apartments which are more of an afterthought. The location was good though, easy walking distance of everything.
Might be ok if you've got younger kids but too small if you've got teenagers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slates80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Apartment very clean and attractive with everything we needed. Appreciated little touches such as tea, coffee, biscuits, milk and chocs. Peter very friendly and helpful. Lots of information available about surrounding facilities. Would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Two nights in apartment 3 with 2 kids; comfortable and clean, with separate twin room upstairs ideal for kids. Host very welcoming and great for local information and recommendations. Kitchen is large enough for meal preparation and everything needed (especially corkscrew!) is provided. Living room fine for family. Position is excellent -- close to all the important bits of Whitby (beach/harbour and centre), with interesting parade of shops nearby on the shortish walk to the main areas and a good baker just down the road (great for breakfast provisions!). The website pictures have been cleverly done, so the rooms aren't quite as big as I expected but they are more than adequate for a comfortable holiday stay. We didn't have the breakfasts, so can't comment on them. On-street parking close by was not a problem. When we go back to Whitby, we'll look to stay here first.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norvic_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in apartment 2 and would not hesitate to recommend Elizabeth House. The apartment was spotless with everything you could need and more. John and Manetta are a warm, friendly couple who can't do enough to make sure their guests have a comfortable stay. Beautifully prepared breakfast is served in a lovely dining room and the choices are endless. We loved our much too short stay in Whiby and will definitely be visiting it and Elizabeth House again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House

Property: Elizabeth House
Address: 12 John Street, Whitby YO21 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Elizabeth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing