We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bye bye magpies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine

The Marine
Ranked #19 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Y021 3PR
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bye bye magpies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Ate here on tuesday about 2 o clock and we were lucky to get the last table, it was so busy!! We both settled for the large fish and chips (it really was massive) the batter was really well cooked and you can tell the chips are homemade. The place is clean and well decorated and all the menu is really tempting. At £12 for large fish, chips and peas i really don't think is expensive at all. The only negatives were, the service could have been slightly better, the chips were a little undercooked, and i was given tap water when id asked for mineral but was still charged which we realised when we got home. But the quality of food will definately bring us back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    903
    350
    109
    43
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Happy Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We found Marine as we were walking on the river front. Inside it was modern, light and airy. The staff were cheerful and welcoming. We chose our meal from the lunch menu. The cod was thick white and cooked to perfection. We had drinks and the bill was a pleasant surprise. The Marine was very clean and the loos were like the restaurant modern and clean. Our visit was on 24/07/2014. Whitby was very busy but our meal was a highlight of our visit.
Ann (Sheffield)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 495happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ripped off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times always thought it was good food and a nice atmosphere. This time no sorry, it wasn't. I feel the price was outrageous, just because it was the summer trade the price was at least a third more, the food was ok but nothing special. Sadly will never go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Just staying one night in the town and the wife and I wanted something more than the usual seaside town fare.

At The Marine we found it.

Good cocktails to start us off, excellent starters and then the seafood linguine for both of us accompanied by an excellent red.

Staff very good and environment pleasant.

Not cheap when compared to most of the food outlets in the town but worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW, a nice experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Staying in Whitby up at the Overdale, we was told about The Marine restaurant. We thought about booking but with so many other places to eat within Whitby, we thought we'd try a walk in. This place is a busy restaurant with great service, so would highly recommend anyone wishing to try its menu delights, book to avoid disappointment!

We luckily got a table and drinks order taken. We went with the 10oz cod and my wife went with the lobster (first experience). Both were tasty, hot and cooked fresh. Although offered the pudding menu, we both walked about stuffed. Loved it! Cant wait to try again on our next visit to Whitby, thank you! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UKDill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marine also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing