We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class property”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Curious66...
1 review
“First class property”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This house is excellently equipped, warm and tasteful. Easy to run a large group event . Lots of bathrooms all with hot water you could want. Helpful owners I would recommend this. Thank you it relay made our stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahesh S
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family bonding trip to Yorkshire”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Positive - Stayed at this address for 7 nights ( 9 adults) . Such a large building with plenty of rooms to accommodate 18. Good decor through out. Good quality furnishings and furniture. Kitchen was well stocked with good quality utensils etc. Negative - too many stairs to climb up and down. Top floor was a nightmare to get up to as steep stairs and coming down was dangerous if you have walking / climbing issues. Council did not empty the refuse bins and they were overflowing.
Apart from that pretty well located with 5 minutes of the beach. Nice area to be in too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margomatt
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal location for a large gathering”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Plenty of room for all the guests and ideal for walking into Whitby. Good facilities and well furnished.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaLouis...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing venue!”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked the house for my sister's hen do, and what an amazing place! All the girls were so impressed with the amount of space and quality of the house, perfect for our afternoon tea. The location is perfect too, short walk to the harbour. Some of the group are already planning return visits!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decoration and space of rooms
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2016
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your girls trip to 6 Abbey Terrace, and were so impressed with the facilities and space on offer there! We wish your sister well with her upcoming wedding and hope that you will all be back for another visit soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeod444...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally brilliant”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of the best houses we have rented for our "Annual Cousns Weekend". We have been doing this for the past 11 years. It was my turn this year to organise it, a huge job. The minute we walked in through the door everyone said how lovely it was and also how clean and fresh it smelt. The owners had left a welcome pack along with a card saying they hoped we all would enjoy our stay in Whitby. The house was just perfect, most of the bedrooms were very large, the smaller ones were still a very good size. Beds comfortable, sheets, covers etc very fresh. The kitchen was well equipped and there is plenty of room for the 15 people who were there. The dining room was well set out with plenty of chairs. The sitting rooms were comfortable and extremely relaxing to sit in. We needed help with the wifi and the owner was around in less than half an hour to fix it. A very nice, pleasant man. After arrived home I received an email thanking us all for the condition we had left the property in. We have never had this before even though we have always left any houses we have rented in the condition we found it in. I forwarded it to all the group and everyone was delighted to hear this. I would definitely recommend this property to people. The situation was perfect, the house was exactly how it looked on the website. You won't get a better property in Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole thing
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Wow! Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It is excellent to hear that you and your cousins enjoyed Abbey Terrace so much, we love nothing more than making a good first and lasting impression! We hope you come back again for your next get together!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachel h
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent property, location and town”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have recently returned from a lovely family holiday in Whitby. I haven't been since I was a child and my sister and I wanted to take our children to experience the delights we remembered, and weren't disappointed. It was made even more special by the excellent welcome and accommodation plenty of room for everyone and a real home from home a lot of thought has gone into the facilities provided and the decor. The location is wonderful a 2 minute walk to the west cliff tops where for those with mobility issues or small children can use the lift to the beach. 5 minutes to the main prom beach, shops and eateries. The Fisherman's Wife provides lovely food and views overlooking the beach and sea beyond, The Angel Hotel opposite the harbor is a Weatherspoon's (which my experience in our home town has not been good) however the food and value for money were excellent here, as was the Magpie Street Food Kiosk opposite the Funland Arcade the Whitebait's are a must. Their is also 2 open top yellow buses that tour round the town and up to the Abbey it is £5 for a ticket which you can uses as often as you like for 24 hours and services run every 30 minutes so great value and way to see the sights. The Pirate Boat trip is lovely and the males in the group went out on a morning fishing trip which you can book for £20 each at harbor opposite Angel Hotel and that includes equipment and bait. We will be visiting again and highly recommend property, location and Whitby to all and Sykescottages and owners offered a comprehensive and friendly service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Real home from home everything you need and standard of property and comfy beds
Liked least: No faults it was lovely
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent house and location”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Booked this house for a family holiday to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday, both the house and the location were excellent. The house is so spacious that 18 people could stay and eat very comfortably. The house has a super large dining table which all 18 guests could sit round and the kitchen was very well equipped to cater for a large meal (even has two dishwashers). There is a very helpful and pleasant housekeeper, Annie, who made contact to check everything was in order and house was very clean and well furnished. The location was very good too, easy walk into the centre and a couple of minutes walk from the beach. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting good quality accommodation for a large group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing