We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place to get the people you love...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robbie S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to get the people you love together”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at 6 Abbey Terrace to celebrate my 30th birthday, and had an absolutely fantastic time. It's a house which has been put together beautifully to allow a large party to settle in quickly and have a great holiday. The bedrooms are all lovely, and the split of twins and doubles really helpful to accommodate a variety of groups. The kitchen was great to allow better people than I to prepare lovely meals, and it was so amazing to have the massive dining room table, and look around it and see so many lovely people in one place!

It's an easy walk into the middle of Whitby (although it's steep - but that's true of anywhere in Whitby), to the beach, to the (half a) Royal Crescent. So there are plenty of pubs, shops, fish and chips within easy reach.

There's pretty much nothing you need to bring with you, as the house is wonderfully equipped (except maybe an extra CD player or two), you can just arrive, relax and settle in. There are two parking spaces, but the very friendly and relaxed landlords will arrange for very cheap extra permits if you need them.

Overall, such a lovely stay and a lovely place to celebrate together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmav2...
Copenhagen, Denmark
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazingly fantastic time. Exceeded all our expectations!”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this villa to have our first extended family Christmas and my 60th birthday celebration. The villa was perfect in every way, made even more perfect by being fully decorated for Christmas! Spotlessly clean and well cared for, we loved every minute and had to tear ourselves away. Whitby is a fantastic location and the villa is so near the town Centre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to say, we all loved everything, but being able to sit around the large dining table together was just perfect.
Liked least: Nothing, even the stairs became friends!!! Fabulous time.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments! We are so pleased that you and your family had a great time celebrating both Christmas and your birthday here in wonderful Whitby and hope that you book with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowdenEng...
England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing Property”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed weekend with group of friends. A tastefully decorated and well equipped house with lot's of space and well positioned for the Town and Harbour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was almost like going to stay with friend in their own house.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality property in the Heart if Whitby”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A large group of 14 of us stayed here over the last weekend of August. The property was perfect for our needs, spacious, cosy, clean and well situated. Nigel and Anna were very accommodating and have done the house up beautifully with lots of nice original features including lovely fireplaces and stripped floorboards. The location is also perfect, walking distance to everything in Whitby and great views of the Abbey and St.Mary's church over onto the East Cliff.
Our group had a fantastic weekend and that was in no small part down to the property, We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and features of property.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
24rocks
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“little gem”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I stayed at 6 Abbey Terrace with a group of friends and we all had a wonderful time. The house is lovely, big spacious rooms, well appointed and very clean and warm. It’s situated on West Cliff and is close to town and all the amenities. There was always plenty of hot water for everyone, the beds were comfortable and there is nothing to fault at all. I had a chef come in on the Saturday night to make a dinner party for all my guests she was fantastic. If anyone is considering staying at this house and would like to do something similar I can highly recommend Lisa Chapman To Dine For. All in all we had a good time at the house, one word of caution there are a lot of stairs, so the house might not be suitable for people with mobility problems particularly the three bedrooms on the top floor which are up some very steep steps. But if you're ok with lot of stairs then this house is perfect for a large group of people.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the space, the ambiance the location
Liked least: the stairs to the top floor
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath W
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in a beautiful house!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Booked this house for a girlie weekend away from kids and husbands! This was our second visit to Abbey Terrace and we all agreed it was like coming home.... We had another wonderful weekend. The house is beautifully decorated, very comfortable, spacious, warm, clean - i could go on and on! The house is situated in a very handy spot for beach and town. Great view of the Abbey from the front door too. We can't recommend this house enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked it all.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing