We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star ”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House
Ranked #50 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from my stay with my partner and daughter... the views were stunning, the room was clean and comfy and the staff were excellent. As a keen golfer it was ideal as it is located next door to a golf course and was only a 15 minute walk to Whitby town. Will definitely be returning in the summer!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank duxy1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for The White House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 351 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay here as we had our dog with us. The rooms used for pets are in the annexe. Unfortunately, despite the lovely location, there is only a skylight window so you can't admire the view from your room.
Pros - can take your dog to stay over & in the bar; very friendly staff; manageable size room; help yourself tea, coffee, juice & toast at breakfast.
Cons - the bed was uncomfortable and very bony - I had marks on my hip from the springs :(
Early & limited breakfast and check out times - 8-9 breakfast!, 10am check out! As this was a 'holiday' stay we found it was too early to have breakfast. Having said that, the staff were very friendly & I'm sure if we had asked for a later breakfast they would done this for us.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank littleminx_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

After an initial misunderstanding between myself and the manager(may i add this was due to problems with groupon),our stay at this hotel was one of the best we've had in Whitby!!!Not only was the hotel in a lovely situation,but it was also spotless and well presented..As a woman one of the main things i look for is cleanliness,clean bed linen and towels,they were all perfect..We stayed in room 6,lovely room with a great view..One of the main things that stood out to us was how wonderful the managers and staff were towards all their customers,nothing was to much trouble..We were also impressed with the food and portion size.We would like to wish Dave and Linda all the best for the future i'm sure your hotel will go from strength to strength..Linda was one of the nicest people we have met..Good luck.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzannew243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I went here for Valentines Day this year and was taken a back by the perfect weekend we had.
The food was perfect, the people were friendly and the views were to die for!
I strongly recommend a stay if you find yourself in Whitby.
Thanks for everything!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Both me and my husband steve spent our 5th anniversary here and were not disappointed the new management along with all the staff were very welcoming friendly and went out of their way to accomodate us.The white house is a lovely place with beautifull views , nice clean ,tidy rooms, and the food was delicious and very well presented.We both had a fantastic couple of days we will be back a placed not to be missed cant thank all of you enough .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I live locally and stopped using the Hotel for meals,however i was informed that new owners had taken over so my wife and I decided to pay it a visit for lunch. The bar and dining area was very clean and inviting, the views from the dining area was as always stunning On entering we were greeted by two members of the staff who may have been the new hosts with a smile and once seated the landlord came to our table for us to order our drinks which were served promptly. They have a large selection of beers a bit pricey but that is not uncommon. When it came to order the food, the menu was of a wide choice and in the price range £9.00 to £12.00 although we were offered a " Golden menu price" this was for seniors and was in fact a small portion of anything on the main menu. as we were not over hungry, we chose this. Whilst we waited for our food the staff entered in to a conversation with us and made us feel at home. The food when it arrived, although on a small plate was plentiful with an assortment of fresh veg. Both my wife and i thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the company. apparently the new hosts relocated from Harrogate and brought their own head chef ans assistant chef plus some staff,The head chef was off work on our visit so it bodes well for this Hotel.we will have to revisit when the Head chef is on.duty.
Conclusion A vast improvement on the last time we visited, the food was excellent and the staff friendly and the restaurant area spotless. Would i recommend it to others YES

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmkendy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHseWhitby, Manager at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thanks very much for your kind words and we delighted that you have already seen an improvement since we took over. Hopefully we will see you at The White House again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had a groupon boooking for 4 rooms and was emailed by groupon the week before to say it had been cancelled. I rang the hotel and they gave me a full explanation and offered us the rooms minus the evening meal offer for an extra £3 which I thought was a very nice gesture.
Food and service was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Having stayed there before I knew it was a lovely walk to whitby town and if need be taxis are cheap.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank all the staff and the new owners very much and good luck with your new venture.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di0nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHseWhitby, Manager at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. The White House has just changed ownership and lots of great things are planned to make all visits a greater experience for guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,075 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 20 in Whitby
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: Upgang Lane, Whitby YO21 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $104 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House Hotel is a family run hotel that overlooks Whitby Golf Club and commands amazing views along the Yorkshire Coast towards Sandsend. The House has 11 bedrooms, a restauant serving local produce from moor and sea as well as having a relaxing welcoming bar which is popular with both guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing