We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ellies Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife & I have just returned from a short 3 day break in Whitby staying at Ellies Guest House and proprietors Val & Peter gave us a very warm welcome. We had a very nicely decorated room and the food we had was excellent. We look forward to going back there in the not too distant future....Certainly Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello Richard & Jane

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

It was really nice to meet you both and look forward to your return visit.

Best wishes

Pete & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 261 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

whitby is our get away from it all break,always for a couple of nights and days,few times through the year,after staying in Ellies that first night,we wouldnt dream of looking at any other accomodation now,we love it there and we highly recommend this lovely house without thinking or being frightend anyone would be dissapointed in their stay there!! the bedrooms we have had are decorated beautiful! the beds are so comfy,modern TV,coffee tea facilities in our rooms,coffee hot choc,tea,filled up everytime we empty them (thanx for that val and pete)every inch of this place is spotless,val &pete vardy who own Ellies are so friendly,and go out of there way to make you welcome,nothing is too much trouble for them,a wide choice in breakfast,which i may add is georgeous...the house is in a brilliant place,not far from the famous wishbones, lovely view of the sea,5 mins away from the beach and little harbour and local shops cafes resturants loads of pubs some of which do good pub meals,then a walk up the famous abbey steps to walk it off,(or not lol)cant wait for our return break there,Ellies is like goin home now,totaly perfect in every way......

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellies_Guest_House, Owner at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi Janet & Doug

It was great to see you again and thanks for the generous review. We look forward to your next visit and we'll do our best to give you your favourite room.

Cheers

Pete & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at Ellie's Guest House for the weekend with my sisters. We were given a warm welcome and well looked after, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a lovely room and the beds were very comfy. Breakfast had a good choice and was delicious. We were close to the seafront and could walk everywhere. Will definately be returning there next visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitbyLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

just returned from a great weekend in whity. Although the weather was freezing we received a very warm welcome. The room was spotless with a lovely veiw of the sea, and to my sheer delight we had not only a shower but a bath great for after a long walk.

We enjoyed a 2 night stay and the breakfast was lovely perfect start to the day.

I would defernatly recomend a stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadgjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We booked Ellie's Guest House for a 3 night stay during February half term. We were the only guests staying at the time and Peter and Val gave us the family room as it was the biggest of the guest rooms. It contained a superking size bed, bunk beds and a seating area in front of the big bay window. The room was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and had a good sized en-suite with electric shower. There was plenty of hanging and drawer space, but whilst we were there they had some new bedroom furniture delivered that increased storage space even further. There was a flat screen tv, a bedside alarm clock/iPod dock and tea and coffee making facilities with supplies replenished every day. The dining room is again immaculately clean and breakfast plentiful (Val's homemade scones are delicious)! They do ask that you let them know the night before if you want a full English breakfast but that wasn't a problem for us and I agree it does cut down on wastage. Val and Peter are friendly and helpful (a chance comment about a proposed walk to Robin Hood's Bay with a bus ride back resulted in Peter finding out the bus timetable for us)! They are also very knowledgable about the area and are happy to recommend pubs and places to eat.

It is only a 5 minute walk to the harbour area with all its shops, pubs and restaurants and so is conveniently placed to have a few beers and then a wobble home afterwards (him indoors' words, not mine!)

It was a last minute decision to go to Whitby and we really dropped lucky with Ellie's and will most definitely stay here again. Go on, book with confidence; you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellies_Guest_House, Manager at Ellies Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hello Denise and Mark.

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ellies.

We look forward to see you again - particularly if you can bring such nice weather with you!

Pete & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We usually go to Whitby twice a year and try to stay at No 5, however we left things at the last minute and when we decided to book up for the New year for 2 nights, we couldn't get in at No 5 guest house, and other Guest Houses where only taking bookings for 3 nights, (is was no good for us due to going back to work).
My hubby and I and two friends stayed at Ellies guesthouse for 2 nights on 31st December 2012, we had a lovely stay,
Peter and Val where excellent, They where really good to get on with (which is good as we talk to anyone).
The rooms are very clean and the breakfast was really good all fresh and hot we even asked for more toast which was not a problem.
We could not fault this guest house at all, and we will be going back again

Thanks for the wonderful stay.
John & Tracy

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Jackie&Paul from fev
What a gret place to stay,Val & Peter really know how to look after thier guest, the rooms are spotlessly clean they are spacious and they have really comfortable beds.the breakfast are excellent with a wide choice of cereales fresh fuit and of course their full english,What a great little B&B.Will defo be staying again if you are reading this Val & Pete Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddog1Featherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#12 of 20 in Whitby
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
3 mi away
Netherby House
Netherby House
#92 of 152 in Whitby
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellies Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellies Guesthouse

Address: 4 Langdale Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $98 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellies Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellies is a friendly family run guesthouse offering quality bed & breakfast accommodation, where you can be sure of a warm welcome in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Ideally positioned on the West Cliff just a few minutes walk from Whitby Pavilion, the sea front, Whitby Abbey, Whitby town and harbour, and all other tourist attractions. Our location also affords guests easy access to the nearby North Yorkshire Moors including Goathland (Heartbeat's 'Aidensfield'), Teesside, Scarborough and Filey. Whatever your interests - arts & crafts, walking, cycling, sea fishing, sightseeing, business trip or simply a holiday, Ellies Guesthouse offers a warm welcome, excellent accommodation and a substantial full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellies Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing