We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog Friendly, good food, good staff, good views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dolphin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dolphin Hotel
Ranked #85 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly, good food, good staff, good views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were in Whitby for a few nights during the Easter holiday, stopping over on the Sunday night, alot of restaurants were closed so we were looking for a Dog Friendly place to eat. Passed the Dolphin then came back to it, how fortunate. The staff were great, brought the dog a bowl of water as soon as we sat down, didnt bring me a beer though!
The food was excellent, I had fish pie and my wife had Whitby Scampi both of which were excellent. The vegetables were spot on, not cooked to pulp as some places tend to do.
I would certainly recommend this pub/hotel as a place to eat when in Whitby and will no doubt go again on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A52D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    62
    33
    10
    50
See reviews for
47
165
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Just had a 2 course Sunday lunch at the dolphin hotel! The food was incredible and so tasty! The portion sizes were amazing and the taste of the food divine! Vegetables still had bite to them which was great nothing mushy and unflavoured! The atmosphere was lovely and the hotel was very busy with people eating! The mature gentleman serving was a pure pleasure he was polite and friendly and just what you would expect In a waiter. Would recommend this hotel to anyone for a lovely meal!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellybaby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice pork pie with mushy peas and a Thatcher gold cider all for around 5. 50. My husband had a chicken baguette and chunky chips. Lovely fire and great view of the Quayside. Close to the captain cook museum. Recommended for a good value lunch in Whitby .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Have just stayed at the dolphin for two nights and was very pleased all round. The rooms are clean and well stocked with tea and coffee and despite a raw east wind and snow we were kept nice and warm. Breakfast is varied with a great choice and the Full English will keep you going all day!. The staff were all great, nothing too much trouble without being intrusive. The pub itself has had some major investment which shows in the quality of the rooms. If coming by car there is a small carpark just around the corner but you have to be quick to grab a space when you can. Book through the pub for best value. Would stay here again and recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having visited Whitby for many years, had never been to the Dolphin, looked a bit local with Sky, went with outlaw and sister in law, five kids looking for a tasty lunch. The decor was superb, staff very attentive ( if not a bit elderly ) food brilliant value. Am in Whitby now on a return visit so will pop back in to see if it is maintaining standards.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

After passing the dolphin hotel on a trip out to whitby we decided to go in and have something to eat. We received unprofessional service as soon as we entered the building. We seated ourselves and shared one menu between four. After choosing which dishes we were going to order, and after ordering, we were informed that one of the dishes was not available. I was happy to choose a different dish however i felt rushed into picking a new meal as the waitress stood by my side until I ordered. To my horror the young waitress did not even apologise and bluntly asked for the £1.50 to make up the difference between the two meals. The food took around 30 minutes to arrive, which I believe was acceptable however we were missing a bowl of chips. We waited a further 5 minutes to receive the bowl of chips. We were not offered any condiments to go with our meals, as all four of us wanted sauces I had to get up to ask for sauces myself. I ordered the beer battered haddock with chips and mushy peas, the peas were not hot and the batter was soggy in the middle of the fish.
Overall I believe we relieved poor service from staff that didn't really know how to provide efficient and professional service. As a waitress my self I couldn't help but pick up all these mistakes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Marybethcalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Me and my friend had lunch here twice last week and it was very good. I opted for the pie and peas twice and they were fab. My friend had cheese plate and steak pie, both she enjoyed on both visits. The staff are very nice and welcoming. We had brilliant views over the harbour and also experienced the bridge moving to let a big ship through. Great views from this pub and excellent food, will return again next time in Whitby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#20 of 20 in Whitby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#66 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Property: The Dolphin Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Whitby YO22 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dolphin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Ale and Craft Gin house, serving the best American style food in Whitby! Amazing hotel rooms available on the riverside next to the swing bridge of Whitby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing