We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen H
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Miss”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely clean and well equipped cottage. The slope was steep but no problem for myself or my daughter. There was a damp smell in the back bedroom, but then it's a very old building. Very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Wifi would have been great, but we found reception when out and about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoJo950
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern but with a cozy charm”
Reviewed April 28, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Cottage was spotlessly clean, well furnished and had everything you could possibly need. It's centrally located and a good size. We really enjoyed our stay and would only say it could do with wifi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: furnishings and cleanliness
Liked least: lack of wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2016
It is great to hear that you had a lovely holiday at The Old Blacksmith's Workshop and that you had everything you needed to hand there. We certainly hope that you return to enjoy it all over again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent modern 2 bed cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My family and i are curently enjoying our week in Whitby staying in this lovely cottage having booked direct with the owner. There are 3 adults and a baby stayingnand we have taken the offer of the travel cot and highchair. Cottage is all on 1 level and is finished to a high modern standard with original features. We have stayed in several holiday cottages in the paddock over the years as its the best location to both whitby harbour & shops as well as to west cliff etc. We would not stay in another location now. ONLY crisitism is having NO WIFI...this really should come as standard in today's technology era."Steep"hill you use to access apartment from parking space isnt as bad as people make out and my mum who has arthritus managed it without a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villamang...
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family catchup”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage is close to the Quay and shops. The downside is the very steep road to reach it, which you have to do by foot as there is no parking outside the cottage. The alternative route to reach the cottage is a series of steep steps. This is not mentioned on the website unfortunately.
The cottage is modern in design but lacks enough crockery for 4 people. Also oven trays are in poor condition and no casseroles dishes. Such a pity as it's something that could easily be put right at little cost. As nobody else has mentioned this problem I can only presume that past guests have eaten out and not prepared their own meals.
Be aware that Internet and mobile phone signals are poor in this area. We had our grandson with us for a study break from University and he had to cut his break short as he was unable to study at the cottage. I understand this is a problem in all areas of Whitby and not particularly with this cottage.

I feel this cottage is only suitable for a maximum of 3 people as the second bed is just 4 foot wide, and the room very small.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modernised, well-equipped cottage in heart of Whitby”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Characterful, spacious cottage with all amenities and modernised to a good standard. Has advantage of nearby parking space, although it is quite hazardous taking suitcases etc. from car to cottage due to extreme slope outside. Close to shops, restaurants, railway station and harbour. Main bedroom needs attention due to unpleasant damp, musty smell. Everything else, perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Near to all amenities
Liked least: Unpleasant smell in bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne G
hartlepool
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Birthday treat”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Found this cottage on line and received great personal service from the owner. Cara helped me plan a surprise birthday trip for my son
The cottage was delightful, well maintained, beautifully decorated and close to all the Whitby has to offer.
Would recommend and would use again
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing