We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like stepping back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherlock's Coffee House

Sherlock's Coffee House
Ranked #3 of 14 Dessert in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This is a beautiful tea room in Whitby. The building is amazing, a warren of nooks and crannies that wind back from the street and are candlelit. Friendly service, excellent coffe, tea and huge, delicious cakes and sandwiches. The best cafe in Whitby.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We popped in for a coffee and cake as it was very close to the cottage we rented over the new year....what a treat - truly delicious home made scones and cakes and décor and atmosphere that really made you feel you had stepped back in time - even the music was authentic - if you like quirky od fashioned tea rooms with a twist - you must visit this place - and take home some fresh scones :) will definitely return

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireBorn2shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    218
    57
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Came across this bijoux little coffee and cake shop as we were wandering through Whitby. The hot chocolate was amazing and came in giant tea cups. The scones with jam and clotted cream were in equally large proportions. The staff were attentive and friendly and the kitschy music all made for an unforgettable experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laboux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not as good as we remembered”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Sherlock's a couple of times before and were keen to go back this year. However, the menu seemed more limited this year (they don't do jacket potatoes any more despite the sign outside!) and our toasted sandwiches were just 'ok'. Nice decor though, different from the usual coffee shops.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank eleanorbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor, slow / non-existent service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not very impressed.

Ordered de caffeinated coffee and teacake.

Waitress dd not appear understand what decaf was and gave me regular coffee.

Teacake had not arrived after twenty minutes, so I gave up and left. The weather was terrible so they were busy, but there were five staff.

They did, at least, wave the cost of the coffee when I went to pay for that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorvik67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best scones for miles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I can honestly say that the thought of the scones at Sherlocks make me hot foot it down there as often as possible! The waitresses are lovely- very polite, cheerful, professional and busy!! The setting is lovely. It's like going back in time. I have never been disappointed with the food at Sherlock's and the scones are the best Zi have ever had! Warm, fresh, crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside with jam and clotted cream...need I say more?!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherlock's Coffee House also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Sherlock's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing