We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice home-made style food and cakes”

Sherlock's Coffee House
Ranked #3 of 14 Dessert in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This is a beautiful tea room in Whitby. The building is amazing, a warren of nooks and crannies that wind back from the street and are candlelit. Friendly service, excellent coffe, tea and huge, delicious cakes and sandwiches. The best cafe in Whitby.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really nice home-made style food and cakes”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have eaten here several times. The food is always excellent. Sandwiches are delicious, drinks are great, and cakes are really, really good. The decor is very quirky, old books, memorabilia, and lots of different tables and chairs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nektaruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    227
    60
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Elementary”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The themed decor was well executed,nice but average coffee, quality of cakes above the usual, but not that unusual in terms of range. Certainly in the top three for coffeehouses for Whitby.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vidyavajra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best coffee and scones in Whitby!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Whilst visiting Whitby we found this gem of a place. Friendly staff with homely surroundings - and they serve the best coffee and scones (with jam and cream) at reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iPaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nostalgic tea room”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The tea rooms were done out like Sherlock Holmes study and parlour. Excellent prices for coffees etc. music of the era playing. Gave me lots of ideas for my bookshelves at home. Can't wait to put them into practice. Excellent experience I recommend the tea room highly

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

4 of us love this unique coffee shop, full of atmosphere. We managed to browse through the many books & just love the food & coffee. the service is excellent. and listening to the "old 78's " is wonderful. shall be returning when we next visit Whitby.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mocookit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherlock's Coffee House also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Sherlock's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing