We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, josiane and Tim are so friendly and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pinewood Guesthouse
Ranked #77 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent, josiane and Tim are so friendly and helpful”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Would not stay anywhere else other than pinewood josiane such a gem alway going out of her way to help x breakfast beautiful freshly cooked to perfection rooms spotless stayed here a number of times and keep returning to this friendly place. Really can not understand the terrible review on here when so many people obviously love it thanks again josiane and Tim till next time ❤️ Sharon batty

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
52
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

After returning to the pinewood many times both with my partner craig and on a girly weekend with Shaz my friend, I can't fault anything about the hotel, it is spotlessly clean, the breakfast are cooked to perfection and also a large choice of cereal's, fruit and yogurts. I wouldn't stay any where else in Whitby, josiane and Tim can't do enough for you and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I consider josiane and Tim now as good friends. And as to the review stating that the lady had been down graded to a single room for the same price as a double, there are no single rooms in the hotel so I can't see how this is true. Josiane is a lovely,kind,caring person who works very hard, and deserve the very best . Teresa and Craig

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Craigteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

fantastic guest house been a number of times would not stay anywhere else Josiane so helpful and friendly rooms spotlessly clean. breakfast freshly cooked, fruit and cereals toast if you go away hungry its your own fault. thanks Josiane and tim for a wonderful birthday break see you both soon. Can not understand the terrible review when everyone loves it so much
x Sharon Batty

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our stay at the pinewood it was excellent ,we had a lovely comfortable bed in a large airy bedroom with ensuite (we stayed in room 3 )breakfast was wonderful lots to choose from , a friendly couple own it we could not of asked for a more we had a perfect stay and we will be returning thank you / 5star recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northunberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

stayed a week at the pinewood house for the folk festival with my family.i mean we couldn't have wished for more.high standard everything.very hospitable treatment from Josiane and Tim who later came over the weekend.both my spouse,children and parents can't stop talking about the treatment they received especially the smarties for the kids,spot-on break fast we received every morning and the ultra neat spacious rooms for us all.with all these,i think the pinewood house is on a class on its own in Whitby. But when i look at reviews from Kaz B,indeed i doubt if she slept at the pinewood.probably you were at pine iron house and not pine wood house cos your reviews don't match any of all the reviews we have read even before going to pinewood.The Josiane and Tim i know are very friendly and down to earth people and both my wife and parents feel the same too.So Kaz B maybe you should look for something different to capitalize on or ask for the real pine wood house so you meet the right people or at least you should say something true.dear Josy and Tim we will be back in the summer.will let you know before we come so you keep the same three rooms especially for my parents who have issues with climbing the stairs.

Room Tip: for the best breakfast,go to the pinewood.beware of sea eagles who make a lot of noise around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having read a couple of comments about stairs, and being about to have a hip replacement, I rang ahead to ask not to be put at the top of the house. When we arrived late on Friday evening we were given the ground floor room - absolutely spotless, excellent bedding, towels and bathroom. The owners, Tim and Josiane, are very friendly and welcoming and breakfast was first class. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieS368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Recommend Pinewood ,nice rooms good shower great breakfast with fresh fruit selection and cooked food carefully made.. Staff helpful and friendly. Were kind enough to post back a left item without charge. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#13 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#18 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#19 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiltern Guest House
Chiltern Guest House
#43 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#9 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Guesthouse

Property: Pinewood Guesthouse
Address: 10 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinewood Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pinewood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing