We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”
Review of The Wilson Arms

The Wilson Arms
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wilson Arms
Ranked #142 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A very good stay had by all in our party , nice warm rooms , really good food , well looked after bar and great hosts ! made welcome from arriving to leaving very friendly people , will be staying again next time in Whitby .

Room Tip: all rooms are good , but it is nice to wake up with a view of Whitby abbey and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    12
    11
    15
See reviews for
18
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed the weekend after Christmas and were looked after really well by the warm and friendly hosts Nick and Richard. Nick is a real character who kept us entertained with funny stories and banter. The beer was on excellent form, (3 real ales) and we had a magnificent steak & chips on Saturday night, though because of the low season the menu was limited. Full Yorkshire breakfasts were superb. OK, the room was very clean and the twin beds pushed together, comfortable. The decor and bedding was a bit old fashioned in a floral and anaglypta way, but perfectly adequate. We had a room at the front over the dining room, and it was spacious enough for an old building, with a good sized shower room and fluffy towels. It also had a small sofa. If Nick and Richard plan to refurbish, I would suggest a plug socket that was more easily accessible to phone chargers and hairdryers etc., and a mirror a bit nearer the sink for shaving. There was a TV in the room and tea making facilities which were replenished. We paid £35 per night each, B&B, and all in all we thought it good.

Room Tip: Rooms over the bar will be noisier, and from the back you can see Whitby Abbey ruins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we spent a long weekend , and enjoyed it verymuch.. all staff were very helpful and friendly.
Home cooked foodand very good menu choice. Both hosts were great. can recomend it to
anyone wanting quiet time and also with Whitby close by and all the coastal bays..
good choice

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxylady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We are a group of four friends who have just enjoyed a long weekend in Whitby and the surrouding area. From the moment that we arrived to our leaving the hosts and other staff made us feel welcome, and it was obvious that they wanted to look after us. Each of the bedrooms are different, but all are nicely decorated, clean and have all the amenities that you require. The breakfast room is very homely, but most importantly, the breakfasts are excellent and set you up for the day. The bar is warm and cosey with an open log fire. The dinner menu is not extensive, a real bonus as everthing is of good quality and cooked well. The chef made his recommendation based on the quality of the meat, and we were'nt disapointed. The beers, brewed in Yorkshire, were excellent. Then theres the choice of malt whisky's, we will have to go back to continue our sampling. In summary; the Wilson Arms is ideally situated for exploring this beautiful area, it is clean and comfortable, with great beer and food, very reasonable, but above all, the hosts are welcoming and friendley. Will definately return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent value for money. The hosts were warm & welcoming. We never stopped laughing all week. Food was all home cooked & lovely. Will definately go back next year. We have recomended it to several of our friends. The rooms were like home from home. Within easy reach of Whitby also North Yorkshire Moors railway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enathripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was the best week I've had for years. The service and quality was magnificent! I never stopped laughing all week. The food was excellent and the accomadation clean and homely. I will defitely be returning for another break. It was great value for money and the hosts were most welcoming. Must go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My sister in law and I wanted a one night stay in Whitby, needing two single rooms, I was surprised that in spite of the fact we both had double rooms we were only charged half of the price ( most unusual, other B & Bs take note, there are alot of us single travellers). We arrived about 7.30 ish having eaten in Whitby , a fact we regretted as soon as we saw the food coming out of the kitchen. Our rooms were spotless, the hosts and the staff were very friendly, we were sorry we could not stay longer and we will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.3 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#2 of 53 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Granby
The Granby
#113 of 151 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#55 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#18 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#58 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilson Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilson Arms

Property: The Wilson Arms
Address: Beacon Way, Whitby YO22 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilson Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Wilson Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing