We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 Days”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
York House Caravan Park
Ranked #17 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great 3 Days”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good Site with very helpful & pleasant staff. I have a motorhome & the pitch we were allocated was level hard standing with electric & fresh water. The shower block was clean & well heated. The bus to Whitby & surrounding area is 200 yards walk from the site. The pub & restaurant on site we did not use so I cannot comment. I can recommend this site.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ford1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
29
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Staff are not the nicest. Not really dog friendly Caravan Park. There is no genuine concern for dogs and owners. When a dog is car sick and not allowed to put a bit of dry sick in bin. I personally would help any one in that situation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank coy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Staff are really helpfull and the grounds are clean tidy and well maintained. Only had a beer in the bar as it was empty. site toilets and showers need a deep clean or modernisation. Quite supprised at being charged for any size awning small or large.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevesmith0588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned home after spending a week at York house campsite, we booked a pitch with electric hook up and whilst we have no complaints about our pitch that is where it ends, the men's toilet and shower block was dirty, in our weeks stay it was cleaned once, the indoor playroom is a converted cowshed with two pool tables and a few video machines, non working, the only thing worth playing is the table tennis but you have to buy the bats and a ball at £4. The site is ideally located between whitby and Robin hoods bay but in our opinion compared to other sites we have visited it could do with a good tidy up and a regular cleaning schedule, it just lacks that extra bit of tlc that would turn this into a first class site

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCFC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Caravan park is ideally positioned between Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby and off the main road so no traffic noise. Has excellent facilities including on site pub serving food, children's playground and large indoor play room with pool tables, table tennis, air hockey and video games. The toilet block is very clean with nice hot showers. 1 large field with hard standings and electric hook up. 2 large fields for tents and 1 small field for tents with electric hookup. We paid £29 a night for caravan with 2 adults, 2 children and 1 dog. This is the second time at this caravan park and we will book again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Robgermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Was okay, payed 55 pounds for 3 nights, warm welcome and all staff were very friendly throughout. Toilets were clean and hot water on tap so nice hot showers anytime. Good base for mountain biking. Enjoyed our first camping trip of the year at this site.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynneelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Pulling up to the house was a slight shock as we were expecting a B&B, not a caravan park...not quite how this was advertised on the visityork website. This was only the first of many wrongly advertised elements to the weekend.
We were advised by the man in the caravan "corner shop" to check in with the girl at the bar - to enter the house through the back door. Fighting our way though the large groups of families sitting in the small bar area watching sat night entertainment TV on full blast and also the radio blaring in the back ground; wheeley case in tow weaving past small children we were given a tour of the facilities. The social rooms were not quite how they appeared on line, only 1 small twin sofa and a dated PC.
Having been taken to our room at the top of the house, it seemed clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a kettle, coffee, tea and biscuits provided - but filling the kettle was a challenge as it didn't fit under the bathroom sink. The sink was a tiny hand basin so proved difficult to wash your face with out nearly knocking your teeth out on the tap. The shower had a push button facility similar to the ones found at the local swimming pool - this isn't idea when trying to wash shampoo and conditioner out of your hair - also not something you expect to find i a hotel or B&B, we hadn't paid to stay on the caravan site.
Trying to sleep at night wasn't easy, the walls were so think you could hear the conversation had in the rooms next door and below. This wasn't great as the people staying in the room below were an elderly couple both hard of hearing - so their conversation sounded more like heated arguments - not great at 6am!!
The cooked breakfast was lovely, and the kitchen staff were more than happy to serve any request, There was a good selection of cereal and toast and coffee. When we checked out the bill was far more than advertised on the website. When I questioned this, the man from the "caravan shop" said that this had happened before and he was aware the website stated incorrect information. His advise was to comment on the website as he couldn't change it - surely that cant be the case!! Even though I called the B&B to before booking to which I was informed the room would be £120 for the weekend - he was still adamant that the rooms would never be that cheap. The bill came to £169.00 which is too expensive for this type of accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shieldsy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
4.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,049 reviews
2.9 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,131 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,223 reviews
2.8 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#4 of 53 in Whitby
274 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Caravan Park

Property: York House Caravan Park
Address: Hawsker, Whitby YO22 4LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing