We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hudsons
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Been going to Whitby for well over twenty years & stayed at the same places a number of times, but as they could not accommodate us all for the weekend we decided to try Hudson's & we were not disappointed, beautiful place, decor excellent very modern & fantastic breakfasts all rolled in the with the beautiful weather of the weekend - We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerpot054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    52
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
227
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

First of all, I don't visit somewhere to stay in the room! I have no idea if the tv had a good reception, or if it had been cleaned behind the bed.
I've never enjoyed staying in any B&B in Britain but this is the first to not put me off from doing it again.
We had room 12 which is an attic room, not what I would choose as we're both nearing 6 foot, but this place is busy on weekends and 3 weeks notice wasn't enough to secure a room without the roof beams intruding. The rooms are clean and have almost everything you expect, my only request would be face cloths and a large bottle of water on arrival. I'm sure tap water is fine but I never drink from them.
The bathroom was modern and clean with a great but noisy shower. The showers are so noisy we didn't have our usual late night shower as it would definitely wake the street up. The adjacent rooms showers were the same, they were superb anyway!
The breakfast is fab, in a lovely relaxed dining room, with great hosts.
Finally, the location is spot on, minutes from all the night life but quiet enough for a good nights kip. On street parking near the B&B is pretty good too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zakblack71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just got home from having a week in North Yorkshire. Had a lovely stay in York in a Premier Inn then we moved on to Whitby. Booked the Hudsons after looking at reviews on here. Found it to be a very nice place but could be better. Bed for me was just too hard and my hips once again felt bruised after lying on my sides (had similar in Tunisia last year). Lay out of rooms nice but not very practical for things like doing hair or make up! Bathrooms cold and quite cramped with no where to put your toiletries. Shower good though. Can't comment on breakfasts as didn't have any, not a breakfast person. Hosts were very nice and friendly though and I'm sure breakfast would have been lovely.

We stayed in two different rooms, room 9 and room 4. Room 9 quite small but otherwise OK and room 4 large with an amazing mirror. So in a nutshell nice but probably not the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed 6 times now over 3 years and we are never disappointed.
We stayed in the beautiful room 7 last week and couldn't fault our stay at all. We slept so well in the big comfy bed.
The breakfast is always delicious, and nothing is ever too much trouble.
This is the place to stay if you want really friendly hoteliers, who have the perfect balance. Their knowledge of the surrounding areas is great, and you always get a warm and friendly reception.
We never stay anywhere else now as we know that we are always guaranteed a great stay in a modern, clean b&b that is run by a fantastic couple.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed three nights at the beginning of September when we travelled on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway and did some walking. Had one of the more expensive first floor rooms, large, airy and very well decorated and furnished. Only slight snag was a need to improvise somewhere where I could sit without the computer on my knees and use a mouse.

Good range of choice at breakfast. Matron even had Boiled Eggs and Soldiers one morning. I stuck with the Full English including excellent Bacon and Sausages.

An easy stroll into the town, including the Station if you are travelling on the railway.

A couple of points to watch though. If you are thinking of an early start breakfast isn't till 8.30 though you could probably negotiate something a bit earlier. Parking for us was an absolute pain and I suspect that it often is at busy times. There are lots of B&B's in Hudson Street and most of the other properties are subdivided. All rely on on street parking. Additionally, it's also popular for beach and sea front parking as it's free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrieBund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of September. We had one of the bedrooms on the 3rd floor. Rooms are recently decorated with nice new showers. Wasn't huge but perfectly adequate. We looked in the rooms on the lower floors and they were larger however, ours was £10 a night cheaper.

Nice cooked breakfast and the owners are friendly. For the price it is well worth it and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

If I could give Hudsons 20 stars I would do. Our rooms were stunning, and now I desperately want to decorate my bedroom at home in the same way! My husband has been warned. Spotlessly clean throughout, delicious breakfast, a warm welcome and easy to park right outside. We walked down to the harbour side in 5 minutes and were really glad we hadn't booked somewhere down there as the parking would have been very difficult. Mark and Laura are lovely and should be congratulated on getting the ambience exactly right. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu191959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing