We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hudsons
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Thank you to Laura and Mark for a relaxing and wonderful stay. Had a great time and really enjoyed my breakfast! Great room, comfy bed and lovely decor. Will be recommending you to my friends and family. We can't wait for our next trip. Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    51
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
225
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room was very clean and tidy, with a comfy bed. The ensuite had a great shower.
Friendly staff recrecommended lots of good places to eat and drink.
Short walk to the town centre and close to the beach.
The breakfast was awesome and set us up for the day well.
we had a great weekend and definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge-dragon45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Hudsons. The room was spotless, the furnishings very tasteful and the welcome from Mark and Laura was warm and friendly. Marks breakfasts are second to none and Laura and Holly served it with a smile. We were so sad when we had to leave and can:t wait to go back, which we will do soon I hope. Thanks for a wonderful stay in Whitby. Just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelsmithHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed recently at this B&B as good reviews on trip advisor. Good points - bedding and bathroom were spotlessly clean, breakfast cooked to order and good, hosts were available but not overbearing. We did have a good nights sleep as the bed was comfy. Bad points - hall carpet was horrible, dining room floor appeared to be sticky, windows were very dirty and loo roll cheap with no spare available. The rest of the room was not cleaned to a high standard, lots of dust on blinds, furniture, headboard and light fitting were not maintained (2 bulbs out in our room). If you are going to put big floral displays in the room and artificial plants in the dining room then they need to have the same level of cleaning as the bathrooms, otherwise they just look tacky. Also, internal doors painted white but all had grubby marks from handling, as did the big glass door at the front. All in all, a nice B&B in a good location for the town but would only return if the cleanliness issues were addressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindaloo320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely weekend stay in this beautiful B&B. Mark and Laura were very welcoming and Mark even moved his van to allow us to park conveniently. We found the rooms to be very clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was superb with a selection of hot and cold options. We would definitely stay again and look forward to doing so in the future.

Room Tip: Next time I would book a superior room as they are not much more in cost and you will have less stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Like previous comment, found Hudsons slightly overrated.rooms well decorated , mimimum toiletries, no toilet roll holder or towel rail!
No wifi beyond 1 st floor and only BBC1 channel on tv- I know you don't go to watch tv at the coast. Parking a problem as expected and ended up 2 streets away.
Well positioned to walking into town, harbour etc.
Breakfast limited for our veggie friends, well cooked but poor selection of marmalade s, jams etc- no marmite. No extra tea bags / milk, no decaf choices to top up the 4 tea bags given.
All forgivable if propriator had been genuinely welcoming.

Room Tip: Not the top floor as no wifi/ choice of tv channels in attic rooms 11-14
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose Hudsons on the strength of feedback on Trip Advisor, but all all honesty,I didn't feel our experience lived up to the reviews. I notice that others have commented on the welcome, but when checking in it felt rather as if we were disturbing the proprietor somehow. Not unwelcome as such, just, well, flat. The room itself was lovely however, spacious and very comfortable. The toiletries were very basic, as was the in-room option for tea and coffee both of which is unusual in my experience of boutique b&bs.

Parking is on-street but we were able to get close and didn't use the car during our visit anyway.

The lack of a vegetarian option at breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, but what we had was freshly cooked. Fairly standard cereals and orange juice was also offered.

Sadly it all felt a bit impersonal, but of course that may well suit some travellers. Not for me, but each to their own.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.4 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#15 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing