We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Hudsons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hudsons
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 8pm and welcomed by owners shown to huge fab room with biggest mirror ever, quirky furnishings including a gilded bed head and a chesterfield sofa.. Super modern shower room and all spotlessly clean. Great location in West cliff easy walk to town but parking is on street and not easy to get nearby unless your lucky. Free wifi and sweeties!
We had a fabulous cooked breakfast served in lovely breakfast room with wood burner next morning with pleasant relaxed service by the owners. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capbrown2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    53
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
228
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

stayed here last weekend stayed in room 4 lovely big room bed very comfy nice big mirror huge big breakfast plenty of different options arrived quite late had to park a bit away as parking is at a premium in this street couldnt fault the house or whitby first time visitors had a great time

Room Tip: room 4 faces main street so if you have parked outside you should see your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank baino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Hudson's on a sunny weekend in October and had a lovely time.

We arrived much later than planned but still received a friendly welcome. We were shown to room 3 on the first floor, a decent sized double room with large bay window. The decor is modern, a bit masculine I thought...but not full on bachelor pad. We were a bit put off by the carpets but managed to get over ourselves quickly enough! Nice big bed with firm mattress. Plenty of storage.

I assume one can check each room on the website but my wife, who booked as a birthday treat for me, was disappointed not to have a bath to relax in. The shower room is ok, a bit pokey. Couldn't get hot water to wash hands and mirror light bulb needed replacing.

Breakfast was excellent. Good food served up in a nice dining room with blazing wood burner.

His very well located and only a short walk from the town and the seafront.

We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KentGrecian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

16 of us stayed. lovely rooms. Breakfast was great. The couple who run it are so friendly. If you can pay a little more and stay in a priemer room. We had a noesy round at them and they are beautiful. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights last week. It is in a great location, easy to walk to the town and had no problems parking on the road outside which is free. Our room was very nice, and very clean, had everything we needed in. The b & b is lovely and clean. The breakfast was amazing both mornings, the owners will adapt the choices to what you like. I am gluten free and they were lovely and got in gluten free sausages for me. The only one thing i would say is that breakfast was quite early, 8.30-9.30, which is probably good for some people but with us going away for a break, it was a little too early for us. Would have liked it to be 9 or 9.30 to 10 or 10.30. The price was reasonable and would definatly stay there again if we were to go to Whitby again. Would recommend :).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank am87_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Hudsons for three nights in late September. It has a great location, well within walking distance to the town with plenty of onroad parking. We had an attic room (Room 11) with beams in the ceiling. The room was plenty big enough with a very comfortable bed and well fitted shower room. Breakfast is fantastic with really good variety of choices. The full English was great with very good quality bacon, egg, sausage, mushrooms, beans, black pudding and grilled tomato or you can choose any combination of those or have mackerel or muffin and creamed mushrooms etc plus there is a good variety of cereals, the most amazing greek style yoghurt and dried fruits plus juice, coffee and tea etc. Would definitely recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor if you don't want to have to walk up and down too ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stopped at Hudsons during September for a couple of nights. Had a good welcome and the room was really big, it was at the front of the house and had a king size bed and sofa (room 7). We found the room really stylish and have paid more for rooms much smaller.
Breakfast was great, about the best we have had at a hotel, it was served between 08:30-09:30 but they would have served outside these hours on request.
Location is good too with a few pubs that serve meals within a couple of minutes walk. We tried The Granby was a traditional type good pub food and The Resolution was much more stylish but the food was good at less than £10 a meal (2 for £9.99 earlybird).
We will definitely go back to this lovely hotel and town. A tip for elderly or people who cannot walk a lot....get a ticket on the sight seeing bus, it's a fiver each and stops close to the hotel, you can get on and off at stops all over the town including the abbey and harbor and its valid for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel they will tell you where rooms are and how many steps etc. All rooms we saw were b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons

Property: Hudsons
Address: 30 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#4 Family Hotel in Whitby
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hudsons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing