We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blencathra Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hudsons(Whitby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
83
17
0
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
17
0
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsron and lizlovely couplecracking viewextra heatertop floorb bscratch cardcouldn't do enoughfried breadwelcoming stayblack puddinggreat hostsdefinitely stay here againlovely placefeel very welcomeplace to stayclean rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 104 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were invited to stay at Blencathra by my brother and sister in law. We were there to celebrate their wedding that took place in yorkshire that morning. We all drove to whitby after the ceromony. When we arrived we were greeted to a warm and friendly welcome by Ron and Joan. Our room was lovely and spotless and the bed was so comfy we slept like a log. The english breakfast was a credit to the chef and went down a treat. We will definately return again. Thankyou Ron and Joan for making our stay a memorable one. See you both soon. Lynn and skip x

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MILLYSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed yet again with the lovely couple Shona and Keith. Rooms always warm, clean and comfortable,must be the best breakfast in Cumbria.I always feel like family and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts.Ideally located for bars.bistro's and pubs and look forward to my next visit early next year.Very competitive on tariffs especially compared to southern lakes

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed yet again with the lovely Ron and Joan. We had the whole guest house with family and friends. We got married in yorkshire and drove to Ron and Joans for the night. As ever they were fantastic with their hospitality. Nothing is too much for them and their b&b is spotless. Breakfast is to die for. Most importantly they are so lovely to talk to and cant do enough for you. I highly recommend their b&b and prefer always to stay with them. If you want value for money its the best place to stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i have just spent a fantastic week end in whitby and stayed in the lovely Blencathra Guest house.Ron and Joan are the perfect hosts and a lovely couple.we had a beautiful room wich was spotless & clean and nice & spacious.The guest house was lovely and warm & so welcoming on such a cold day.our bed was very comfortable and we slept like logs.last but not least the full English breakfast including an option of black pudding for those who like it, is the best in Whitby.Thanks for a fantasic weekend Ron & Joan 11 out of 10 keep it up

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

just arrived home from a brilliant time in whitby Ron and Joan we very friendly and helpful they couldnt have done anymore the room was spottless and very comfatable and the breakfast was hearty and cooked to perfection.Ron even let my husband in at 1am as he forgot his key and was fantastic i would highly recommend this to anybody and i will definately be returning especially now i know they take pets

Room Tip: i was in room 3 and it was lovely and spacious
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynestevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews