We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

Wentworth Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wentworth Guest House
Ranked #99 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Really lovely stay here. Central to the beach/town. Owners are very friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was great.
Room was lovely and clean. Will stay here again when visiting Whitby
Thank you for a pleasant stay.
Walter, Jill and Amy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noonabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Wentworth Guest House. Robin and Caroline were friendly, welcoming and very accommodating to us and our little boy. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Overall we were very happy with the service we received and couldn't have asked for more, We would definitely recommend the Wentworth, especially for families, and hope to stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Manager at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you and Carnt wait to see you again
Caroline & robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Thanks you Caroline and Robin for a great weekend, breakfast was cooked to perfection and we have even booked to come back for new year already, the beds are fantasticly comfortable and this aids my husbands back problems. When we asked for extra pillows it was no problem .

Room Tip: We have been in nearly every room and they are all clean and comfy, great Wi-Fi reception and plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinabeans29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Owner at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night with the our dog. We recieved a warm and friendly welcome from Robin. Our room was spacious, clean and everything we could have needed. Location was great with the sea front just a couple of minutes walk away. Our rook looked over the back so was lovely and quiet (great for the dog) however we were disturbed by others returning at midnight and making an almighty noise. Parking was a problem (but I think it is the same for most bed and breakfasts in Whitby) although we did manage to get parked right outside the door but do expect for your car to be streets away. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice. Overall we had a pleasant stay at the Wentworth Guesthouse.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LesleyAnn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Owner at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We can't be held responsible for the noise that people make when they come back, we have a sign asking people to be quiet but sometimes this does not work!
Parking is NOT a problem. We ask guests to double park if there is nothing obvious and then we will help with parking even moving our cars to give guests a space. The only people who have a problem are those who do not follow our instructions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights Thurs to Sunday and had a fab stay.Robin and Caroline were the consummate hosts and could not do enough for you.Thanks Caroline for the recommendation of Magpie restaraunts it was superb.Locely comfortable and clean hotel will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveruane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Owner at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for a nice review
Glad you had a nice time
Robin& caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a most wonderful stay at Wentworth Guest House, Again! Owners Robin and Caroline very hospitable. Very knowledgeable on area with places to go and visit. Couldn't ask for better host's. I highly recommend this 4 star Guest House. Is not my first time staying with them, not my last. Shall happily stay with you again and tell all my family and friends to do so.

Room Tip: If your a family of three or more, ask for room 3, this is a huge part of their guest house, almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Owner at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you . You welcome any time to our
B&B
Robin& caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We enjoyed a warm welcome and comfortable stay with our little dog who was made very welcome too! The room was spacious and Caroline & Robin were friendly and keen to make our stay home from home. Location was close to the sea front and harbour too. There was lots of choice at breakfast which we really enjoyed. We would certainly recommend the hotel and would stay here again the next time we visit Whitby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Owner at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you glad you had a nice time
Robin& Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#10 of 20 in Whitby
321 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highgate House
Highgate House
#48 of 152 in Whitby
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#12 of 152 in Whitby
385 reviews
0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Guest House

Address: 27 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $91 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run guest house. We pride ourselves on providing a great service with friendly staff, at a reasonable cost. We are very close to all the amenities and attractions that Whitby can offer. We have pubs and restaurants very close and even a lift nearby for access to the beach. All rooms are en-suite, with FreeSat TV and hospitality tray. We take pets to ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wentworth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing