We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break in Whitby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wentworth Guest House
Ranked #110 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break in Whitby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at WGH in Whitby. The rooms were big, comfortable and clean; breakfast was superb every morning; the proprietors were extremely welcoming and accommodating and able to recommend several good places to visit and dine at. We had a great holiday and would certainly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Owner at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
If the gentleman had mentioned it w their honeymoon we would have moved someone else to the twin room, we just want people to be happy!
We sanitise after every guest but have now put some hand wash in the en-suite, but we have never had any comments about this in nearly six years!
We tell every guest to come to the house to unload and we will help with both the luggage and the parking. We move our cars if necessary, to get parking for guests so that they can park nearby.
We are far from "quirky" but are modern clean and comfortable!
The person from Visit England, during an inspection, told us to remove finished plates as soon as possible and to give guests room to relax. There is no rush for people to finish their food. We use good quality produce and have had many positive comments about our breakfasts!
We are only two hundred yards from the shopping street and just five minutes from the harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    28
    10
    2
    8
See reviews for
29
73
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

went to whitby stayed at the wentworth great place the rooms are realy big and spacious and the beds so comfortable no trouble getting to sleep the hosts robin and caroline are realy friendly and cant do enough for you they do a realy big breakfast that sets you up for the day its within easy walking distance of everything will definatly go there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dondancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Manager at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for a nice review
Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Came to whitby for a day out and decided to stay the night. Didn't pack anything an. As iI used my phone as a sat nav my phone battery died, Robin brought a large box of spare phone chargers out for me to borrow to no avail so he borrowed me his own charger over night! Nothing too much trouble and looking forward to my full English tomorrow (yes I'm still staying in the room at moment using the free wireless Internet to write this review on my phone) would definitely come again and recommend :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigeljennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Owner at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
.Thank you hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Thanks to robin and caroline for making us so welcome again, great b&b spotless rooms, lovely breakfast and friendly hosts cant do enough for you, excellent location within walking distance of everything, looking forward to our next stay already.

Room Tip: any room you get wont leave you disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRACEY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Manager at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster,england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just got home after another great stay at the wentworth, what can I say but good in everyway very friendly hosts robin and caroline , spotless rooms, excellent breakfast, within easy walk of everywhere , would we stay again? a very big yes I love to try and find faults with the places where I stay but at the wentworth I cant find any WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK!

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms but whichever you get you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenko1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Manager at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had a warm welcome from Robin on arrival who showed us to our room. We were in room 6 which was a converted attic and was pleasantly suprised by the large size of the room and bathroom. There was plenty of tea and coffee facilities and nice fluffy pillows. The cleaniness of the room and hotel in general was exceptional. At breakfast we were spoilt for choice and a lovely breakfast it was too. On reflection we were very impressed with the hotel and would choose to go there again.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to climb to the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1974Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Owner at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for your good review. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great guest house, clean and county bedrooms, great breakfast and Caroline and robin are great hosts nothing is too much trouble. Will definatly be going back again as we are booked in for June festival weekend.

Room Tip: Loved the four poster bedroom, but room six is great as well, lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinabeans29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamzzz, Manager at Wentworth Guest House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you your welcome any time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#18 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arundel House
Arundel House
#30 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grantley House
Grantley House
#126 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#122 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Guest House

Property: Wentworth Guest House
Address: 27 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run guest house. We pride ourselves on providing a great service with friendly staff, at a reasonable cost. We are very close to all the amenities and attractions that Whitby can offer. We have pubs and restaurants very close and even a lift nearby for access to the beach. All rooms are en-suite, with FreeSat TV and hospitality tray. We take pets to ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Wentworth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing