We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #44 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed in the Penthouse, lovely views and lovely room. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were great. The only negatives were all the stairs (not un-expected, being in the Penthouse!) and it is a noisy spot (the upside of this being that you are close to everything and with great views).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    39
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
113
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the Martini suite for my husbands 50th birthday, the room was lovely very clean and well equipped, staff were very friendly and welcoming, nothing too much trouble for them, we ate in the brasserie, food excellent standard. All in all a brilliant stay, fab location with amazing views across the harbour looking up towards the abbey. Only very slight downside was could have done with a dressing table, but this in no way spoilt the stay. Will definatley be back

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ellerker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night midweek and loved it! We stayed in the penthouse suite which was really large with great views across the harbour to the church and abbey up on the cliff. We ate there in the evening and had a lovely meal. The staff were so friendly and helpful which was lovely. Had breakfast the next morning which was also good.
Would definitely stay there again...thank you!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tinytobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Went for my 36th Birthday as a surprise from my girlfriend and it was amazing.

Excellent location, lovely room, top-class food, drinks and really friendly staff.

Take ear-plugs, as harbour area really noisey on a morning, but this didn't stop me having the best birthday!

Would come again without nah hesitation.

Thank you Harry's bar for an unforgettable experience and keep up the good work.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We visit Harrys every year when we attend the goth weekend in November,
We had a treat this year and had a long weekend in Whitby at the end of Febuary
We booked Harrys for the Saturday night and again had a wonderfull meal,
Me and my wife both had Steak on the stones and what a great meal it was.
Thank you All and it was good to see Eve Again who looked after us.
Cheers

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice ambiance, good value deal ( two courses for two for £25) and gets an extra star for actually having more than fish n chips in Whitby! Mussels were excellent, lamb not quite so good. Staff friendly. Free wi fi too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I thought I must write and give our opinion as seeing one or two negative comments I wonder if these people stayed at the same place? ??? We have stayed at Harry's on a regular basis - the latest time in January. We have only ever experienced Excellence and thoroughly enjoyed it every time. The welcome from the owners, the beautifully appointed rooms,all having fantastic views of the harbour and Abbey - plus the fabulous food has us going back time and time again.... And we have very high standards, having stayed in some of the very best hotels worldwide.
As for value for money - I cannot fault it as we have paid much more for much less on many occasions, (one being the Waldorf Astoria £325 per night and rubbish breakfast) and had to pay extra on top for breakfast! So no quibbles on price. It's quality through-out. Looking forward very much to our next trip......

Room Tip: They are all nice, but the penthouse is the best with a separate lounge looking towards the Abbey -
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbey Steps Tea Rooms B&B
Abbey Steps Tea Rooms B&B
#145 of 151 in Whitby
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highgate House
Highgate House
#56 of 151 in Whitby
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#70 of 151 in Whitby
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie

Property: Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Address: 10-11 Pier Road, Whitby YO21 3PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing