We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #48 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited here on a busy Saturday night, we had booked a window table and were told that sadly there wasn't one available we were a little disappointed but didn't want it to spoil our evening and the restaurant was very busy, we started with drinks outside as it was a lovely warm evening, the atmosphere is great and you have great views of the Abbey and St Mary's church. We ordered garlic prawns and Thai beef to share for starters and they were both amazing, for main I had steak served on a volcanic rock which you cooked to your liking which was perfect for us as I like mine rare and he likes it a bit more cooked so he just left it on the rock longer! He had pork chop and I have to say it was the best pork chop I've tasted, we even had a pudding not that we were hungry just because everything had been so lovely we couldn't resist, I had a trio of pudding and the creme brûlée which was one of the three was fantastic, he had a mixed berry cheesecake, we had coffee and our dessert in a table by the window which had become available. Everything was lovely and we can't wait for our next weekend in Whitby when we will definitely go back to Harrys Bar

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carlys_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked this restaurant online prior to our arrival in Whitby , going with Tripadvisor comments. Our table was ready and upstairs beside a window as requested. Smashing menus, doing a sort of tapas thing but with seafood (obviously being at the harbour) and pasta, risotto etc. We plumped for the special , my hubby going for the steak cooked on a stone. I had sea bass on minted peas, balsamic dressing...I didn't fancy the twice deep fried skinny chips and asked for crushed new potatoes...no problems changing it at all....hubby didn't fancy salad or veg with his steak so staff offered him bread and butter instead...excellent trade off for mr flutterbyer who doesn't do healthy green stuff!!....lovely ice creams to follow...tea and coffee...superb. Wine of the month was a bargain at £18 a bottle..
Staff were great, 2 lovely girls who knew their stuff, efficient but never hovering...
All in all another great meal in Whitby....would certainly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flutterbyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We could only book for one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Great location with super views, although being on the main harbour road did mean it was quite noisy but the views more than compensated. The room (Bellini) was very clean and expertly designed with good quality fittings/soft furnishings.
We ate in the restaurant the night of our stay and the food/service/presentation/value was excellent, with the breakfast the following morning (had to wait till 9.00 a.m.so no good if in hurry) being equally as good.
If visit Whitby again would definitely book Harrys Lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We both thought this was a lovely hotel with a great view ,staff all very friendly .The reason
We only gave it four stars on this occastion was all the noise outside at 7 am (must be road works) but we will come back again as we are sure this will not to be going on forever

Room Tip: Book in advance to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeldustLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked just for the night of 23rd June 2013. I had read the reviews and it sounded great - and was. The view from our bedroom was just amazing......I was a bit apprehensive when we went up the back street stairs to the rooms, but as soon as the front door was opened - wow! The room itself was really luxurious and the bed was very comfortable. When we'd unpacked we went down to the bar for cocktails, and then went back for dinner later on. We ate from the "2 for £25.00 menu", but a lot of people were eating from the a la carte, and it all looked amazing. Our food was outstanding. The menu says that the a la carte is all starter size, but I think they mean Yorkshire starter size....... We had a great meal: the service was very good and the staff were very friendly. We had a great night's sleep, very quiet, and then a really nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by what other people have said about having to go "outside" for the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Tibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited here on a night out, the drinks are very over priced for a basic gin or vodka, we felt very un welcome here, didnt think the staff/lady in charge not sure who there were were very friendly. Was glad to get out of there and go some where else. Wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just stayed for one night in the 'Champagne Suite'. Lovely spacious room, nicely furnished and in an ideal position overlooking the harbour.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast excellent.
If you're looking for somewhere to stay in this part of the world, I would recommend it very highly. Quite a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Champagne Room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#10 of 20 in Whitby
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#52 of 152 in Whitby
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#65 of 152 in Whitby
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#12 of 152 in Whitby
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie

Address: 10-11 Pier Road, Whitby YO21 3PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $181 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing