We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bacon”
Review of Monks Haven Cafe

Monks Haven Cafe
Ranked #11 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Monks Haven Café you can sit, relax and watch the world pass by along historic Church Street through our bay windows while enjoying fine, freshly ground coffee or Yorkshire tea. We serve fresh Whitby crab sandwiches, fresh Whitby cod in a beer batter and a wide selection of desserts and treats from scones to lemon and ginger crunch. We are open 7 days a week and until late on Friday and Saturday evenings.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice bacon”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

came here for full english and i have to say that the breakfasts here are the best in Whitby, good price and very filling perfect start to a day! not had anything else off the menu but i would like to try something else the next time i visit this lil cafe

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandakittensonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    95
    25
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stockton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chris,Bab's, Jan & Sue”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Visited Monks Haven last year for a friends Birthday surprise, Helen & the Staff made us so welcome, we went back on Fri 1st March 2013, we had the best rump steak we've ever tasted, and it was only £9.95.
Ian cooks whatever steak you want to perfection, and the prices are really good.
Looking forward to our next visit to Whitby, so we can have a lovely meal again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cia-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and excellent value!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This cafe attracted me and my friend as it looked friendly and I had my dog with me. We went inside to a warm welcome and dog friendly cafe :) This was great as most places won't allow dogs :( Anyway, the cafe has a small menu but great variety, we opted for the afternoon tea for two for £9.95. We weren't expecting much so got a plate of chips each also. Our meal, or light lunch should I say :) came on a cake stand with triangle cut sandwiches on the bottom, with a few crisps and salady bits. The top had a HUGE scone, 2 mini eclairs, jam, cream and a butterfly bun!! This also included tea for two :) This was amazing and looked wonderful!!! The chips we got were far too much :) Great staff, from over hearing there was a mother and daugther working there which is always nice to see, both very polite. Will definately go again :D AAAAA+++++ :D

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Should be called Monks Heaven not Haven”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited this place for the 1st time & we had a very unexpected tasty meal.
We went in because it looked so inviting after leaving Sandlers Yard where we seemed to be invisible.
It is a small place but very clean & the young man waiter was so friendly & obliging.We were offered more gravy or hot water.Nothing was out of his way.
We both had the steak pie which came with hot chunky chips & peas.Lovely.
My husband had homemade apple pie & custard which he said was the best he had tasted.I had victoria sponge cake with cream.Beautiful.
We both agreed we really enjoyed our meals & we will definitely return to the friendly Monks Haven even though we didn't meet the monk !!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaz5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“breakfast time,”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

lovely little cafe, nice staff, full english for £4.95. very nice, one drawback, the sausges, not very nice,cheap and nasty, i would have given the place 5 stars but lost a star for poor qualty sausages.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monks Haven Cafe also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Monks Haven Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing