We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality and Friendly Staff”
Review of Moon & Sixpence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moon & Sixpence
Ranked #70 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

What a charming upmarket place. A small amount of seating outside with views over the harbour, great quality food and excellent waitressing - happy to help. Can imagine this place comes to life at night as the cocktail bar. Quite expensive, £2.20 for a cup of tea. And not much change from £20 for two breakfasts with drinks. Thoroughly recommended. Would like to try some oysters or lobster that was on the menu.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    27
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
7
109
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bradford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Just visited the moon and sixpence today for a quick drink!this place is busy but we still managed to get a seat straight away!!li had a raspberry mojito- i Love my cocktails and this was the best I've had by far!!! So good I had a second!! :0)
Lovely setting, right on the busy harbour. Lovely decor, with a very stylish feel!! I didn't want to leave!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank moo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visit Whitby every year and have popped in to the Moon & Sixpence on a number of occasions, but up until now we had only ever had a drink. This time we decided to have a drink and a bite to eat. A pint of Budweiser and a glass of Prosecco came to around £8, which I would say was about right for these type of drinks in a more 'pleasant' establishment. To eat we ordered a burger and a risotto. After waiting at least 45 minutes I politely asked where our food was, only to be stared at by some member of staff and told "It's on its way", the member of staff then turned round and didn't even go in to the kitchen to actually check it was on it's way. In fact this was our first contact with this member of staff so he had no clue what we had ordered or how long we had been waiting. When the food arrived it came with another order for a table next to us. My burger was dry and started going hard and my girlfriend's resotto had a skin on top, so these meals had both clearly been sat in the kitchen waiting to be picked up. We thought it was a little odd that our meals came out at the same time as another table's meals when they had ordered their food a while after us. I think this place probably started off with good intentions of trying to improve the image of Whitby and offer something else besides the traditional pub, but now it has got a little pretentious and customers are starting to catch them out. The staff and food needs to match the decor and smarten up its act.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deaneenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have been here many times over the years and always loved this place, but it was full of flies, overly warm (aircon not on) and expensive. Despite Whitby being busier than I have ever seen it, this place wasn't. Staff, however, remain brilliant and friendly. Cocktail prices are extortionate. Someone needs to rescue this Whitby gem fast, as the nearby Wetherspoon is a popular draw!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocketUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a lovely meal last time we were here so had high expectations this time. Unfortunately the menu had changed so just went for the cod and chips. What a mistake, the fish came in a dark brown bombproof casing and tasted of nothing. The chips were hard and tasteless and my partner's scampi came with mushy peas instead of garden, but was not asked which he preferred. All in all, a very disappointing experience so will not be returning am afraid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Popped in for a drink 1 evening & for breakfast the next day, very modern, friendly bar with good cocktail deals.
Sausage ciabatta was delivered promptly & was very tasty, my partners scrambled eggs were very creamy & cooked just right.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bearsdenbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed again in room 6...for the third time!! Lovely room. Only down side is that the room over looks quite a busy street with pubs on it. There was a lot of noise as we stayed Friday and Saturday night.

The bathroom door is frosted glass. I would recommend that The Moon and Sixpence put a blind or a net curtain up to it as you can see your partner sat on the loo!!!!!!

The breakfast and evening meal were brilliant and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a blocked sink and the TV lost it's tuning. Both were sorted within 30 mins - thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#14 of 151 in Whitby
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#80 of 151 in Whitby
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon & Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon & Sixpence

Property: Moon & Sixpence
Address: Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Moon & Sixpence Hotel Whitby
Moon And Sixpence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing