We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boulmer Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hudsons(Whitby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
96
16
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
16
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteddy bearshosts paulb bwest cliffeach morningspur of the momentreplenished dailytwo nightswithin easy walking distancewarm welcomefeel very welcomewhale bonesfull englishvisit whitbyan ideal locationdefinitely stay here againnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 121 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Paul was very welcoming throughout the stay and very helpful regarding maps, routes and things to see in and around the area. Location is only 10 mins away from beach and shops. The room, bedding, towels, bathroom were spotlessly clean....couldn't fault anything. Although no vegan options available for breakfast (except cereal), Paul was very accommodating and offered an alternative which was much appreciated, as was his light hearted humour; making for a very warm and relaxed stay. We will definitely be back. 10/10.....Shola and Peter

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samsara46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

On arrival we received a warm welcome from Helen, Paul was booking in another couple but said hello. Helen took us to a large family room with a double bed and a single on the opposite wall. In the corner was a leather sofa which was ideal as quite often the only place to sit is on the bed or the dressing table stool.The room and en-suite were clean and tidy with plenty of storage space. Around the house there was a good selection of books, games Dvd's and daily news paper provided. My husband, grandson ( 12 yrs. old) and myself made good use of them every day. The food was good setting you up for the day, Paul was the one fetching and carrying from the kitchen. (Look for the animal shaped toast ) Paul has a good knowledge of the area and other topics, if you've got a query he's the man to ask. He's very helpful providing leaflets and helpful information for trips and travel in and around Whitby. The house is in a good location, within 10 mins you can find something of interest. All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 103Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th time at the Boulmer and yet again we can't give praise enough.......we always stay in the same room which is always spotlessly clean....the breakfasts really set us up for a hard days tramping around the shops en route to the shambles or Humble Pie!
Paul and Helen do a fantastic job and as long as they are at the Boulmer we'll keep coming.
Bob &Caz.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fidothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The owners were very Friendly and very welcoming, very clean, service was excellent and I would recommend it to anyone. Close to all attractions. The food was fantastic value for money. Wish I was able to stay longer and will in future book up for longer. Whitby is a very picturesque town steeped in History.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Boulmer Guesthouse in Whitby in February this year and we loved it! It was genuinely the best guesthouse we have stayed in. Paul and Helen warmly welcomed us into the house and helped us with our luggage, whilst making lots of conversation. Paul provided us with top travel tips, leaflets and timetables to assist us during our stay in Whitby. Paul was passionate about Whitby itself and recommended excellent places to visit, including Humble Pie 'n' mash restaurant and Robin Hoods Bay walk to and from Whitby. On a whole, Boulmer Guesthouse was very clean and cosy and we loved our room! Excellent facilities were provided in the bedroom, including a hot shower, comfortable, well sized bed and plenty of traditional storage. It was also beautifully decorated. The breakfasts provided each morning were fabulous! During our stay, Paul and Helen provided excellent customer service. They even helped us out when we got lost during a 3 mile walk into Whitby and so we believe they exceeded our expectations (we didn't want to go home!) I honestly could not criticize this guesthouse in any way and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wished to enjoy a trip to Whitby. We would love to visit again in the near future. Thanks again Paul and Helen! From Jen and Neil (Liverpool guests) :-)

Room Tip: We loved room 3 (first floor). It was cosy and comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 821JenniferC821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews