We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything just so”
Review of Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“everything just so”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

eating out in whitby is so worth while more so when you find a gem lovley clean and welcome place nibbles to try while selecting from a limited menu(like dittos) well thought out choice which changes monthly along with a early bird offer we mixed both so the final price was unspoken till the end. bottle of wine served very well the lady dealing with us was very informative with a smile that said nothing was any trouble .all food was cooked perfect and enjoyed all for only £42 for both of us well worth the stroll out of town and back along the cliffs brilliant i havent told you the choice i highly recommend you find out

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 17stonearmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    33
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but worth the walk.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We hadn't booked, but that was no problem, although the owner looked surprised that we'd turned up out of the blue on a freezing cold night. The small menu was difficult to choose from as everything sounded so nice and at 2 courses for £20 was great value. The food was great quality, really well cooked and the attention to detail by the waiting staff was lovely. We were staying at the "whalebone" side of town so no 4 wasn't too much of a walk, but even if you were on the other side it's definitely worth venturing a bit further.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JezebelsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, england
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A friendly restaurant in a wierd location”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were a party of 6 somewhat extrovert friends who had a very happy Saturday evening in this restaurant. The food was well above average; made with good quality ingredients and very capably cooked. Portions are generous and nicely presented. Don't let the location or the blandness of the decor put you off though - this is very important advice - give it a try and you won't be disappointed. Finally thanks to Maureen and her staff for making the evening so enjoyable and especial thanks to James who managed to keep a straight face and professional manner on his 1st night working here, inspite of our merrymaking. Hats off to all concerned.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank talkingpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kineton
1 review
“Gastronomic Delight”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife & I would like to associate ourselves with the last two reviews. We booked at the last minute on Thursday evening and were delighted with the whole experience. The service was personal and attentive without being intrusive and the food as good as we have ever experienced. Truly a hidden gem!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a fantastic restaurant !!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We ate at the number 4 after reading these reviews, what a fantastic place! My husband and I along with our six year old went. The owner was so accommodating as they made our daughter a child's meal which was not on the menu. The food was absolutely amazing, the presentation and quality of the food was the best meal I've eaten out in a long time. The restaurant is so clean and the service is really friendly. Food portion size was plenty just right for a three course meal. I would certainly recommend this restaurant !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fozzy943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 4 Cafe Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Sandsend, Whitby
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing