We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mill Cottage - A perfect place for couples”
Review of South House Farm

South House Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South House Farm
Ranked #26 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our second stay in Mill Cottage and even the weather cooperated this time around. The location is ideal for those wishing to spend a quiet relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle of Whitby and yet still be within easy reach by car, approx. 30 mins. The new Sainburys located just before entering Whitby was a great asset as it meant not having to go to Scarborough to do our main shopping. There are plenty of pleasant walks along the beach or headland around Robin Hoods Bay. The cottage is well equipped with a large and comfortable bed. The bathroom has a walk-in shower unit. Nealia made us feel most welcome and it certainly helped us enjoy our stay. Would recommend this self-catering accommodation anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Extremely tranquil and a must for walkers. We had a young baby so walks out with the pram were not very practical but we we went to Filey,Whitby, and Robin Hoods Bay which are all short drives away. The cottage definitely requires some new carpets and kitchen flooring, they were quite old and grubby. BBQ and most kitchen appliances present, well worth a visit. Please be awa no WIFI :(

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked Stable Cottage for a short break at the start of July and had such a wonderful time we're already planning our return. The owner, Nealia, is a very hospitable and welcoming lady, all communication before we arrived was easy and the whole process was very pleasant. The cottage was beautiful, set on a quiet working farm. Very peaceful area but only a 5 minute walk from the beach (which has a youth hostel serving coffee and food), and about 20 minute from the picturesque village of Robin Hood's Bay. We had our own private garden (BBQ provided), a beautiful well equipped kitchen, very spacious lounge area and the double room had gorgeous sea-view. The cottage is very comfortable, with an excellent balance of modern furnishings and finishes against the traditional feel of the building (to a much higher standard than some of the other cottages we considered!). Would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to escape to the country whilst remaining close enough to civilisation to be able to wander into town when it suits them. I would however agree with the comment below that the clifftop walk to Robin Hood's Bay is up a steep path, be prepared for the walk! Also the steps to the bedrooms in the cottage are narrow and quite steep, possibly not ideal for little ones, and although there is a village shop nearby your closest supermarket is a 20 minute drive away. Still I personally consider the standard of the cottage and it's beautiful location to be well worth the trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pidnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Spent a long weekend in May. Lucky with the weather. The location is great, down a winding country lane. Once at the cottage there is a walk down to the beach (uphill on the way back though!) It's about a 20 min walk to Robins Hood Bay along the cliff - but be warned it is quite a steep climb up to the cliff path. You can also walk along the beach to Robins Hood Bay but you have to be aware of the tides. Robins Hood Bay is beautiful - very quaint. We stayed in Orchard Cottage, there were just two of us - it does accommodate 4 plus cot. The accommodation was first class. The owners website does not do the place justice and they should really update their pictures.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacquelineJawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
5.7 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
7.1 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,166 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
894 reviews
7.7 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#136 of 154 in Whitby
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South House Farm

Address: South House Farm Mill Beck | Fylingthorpe, Whitby YO22 4UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Whitby
Hotel Class:4 star — South House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing