We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondreful accommodation, great location.”
Review of Haven Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haven Guest House
Ranked #31 of 155 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My husband and I have just return from our second visit to the Haven, Whitby. The accommodation is of the highest standard and well maintained. Our room was the four poster bed with sea/abbey views, well worth the additional cost. Breakfast was cooked fresh every morning with locla products. Chris and Stevie work very hard to maintain the standards and are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 524 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed here whilst on a visit from Australia. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Chris and Stevie are so friendly. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. We have 2 young children and felt that they were most welcome. The breakfast was superb! We stayed in the family room and their was ample room for us all. Whitby is an amazing place to visit and to have a great place to stay made it even more special. I will definately go back again and again and again....

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This was the 2 nd time we have stayed at the Haven.The service is top rate, we were made welcome again by Chris & Stevie. We had room 6 which has a great view of the harbour, the room was clean and tidy plenty of room and seats plenty of hangers.The breakfast was great . We parked in front of the Haven all weekend. The haven is central in Whitby, there is lots to do in and around the town.The walk along the beach at low tide to Sandsend is lovely. We have already recommended the Haven to friends and family . Well done Chris and Stevie and thank you. Pete & Janette

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Perfect location just a short walking distance to town,rooms well furnished clean and homely,Chris and Stevie are the perfect hosts,friendley and helpfull.Full english breakfast sets you up for the day,there is also a full range of cereals and fruits.A big plus for us was the fact that there are no children therefore nice and peaceful

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank far2fat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

kalimera or is it Yassoo.Efhkaristo We both enjoyed every mooment of our four night stay.You have put a lot of love and hard work into making the HAVEN a wonderful relaxing place to stay.Furnishings and Decoration all top quality, rooms spotlessly clean{loved the touch of the Teddy Bear on the bed} and what a fantastic view from our window{room 1} Breakfast excellent didn't need to eat again until tea time.Another bonus not far from sea front and shops.Would recommend THE HAVEN to everyone its the place to stay in Whitby and we will definately be back again and again. We now have made another two wonderful friends Chris & Stevie the owners of the HAVEN. Bye till we meet again. Yassoo {hope got the Greek right}. Enid & Barry Crooks xxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forgetfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Haven in Whitby. The room we were in was quite compact and a bit warm but had a view of the sea. The warmth of the room meant we needed the window open at night, beware, it can be quite noisy. Breakfast was ok. A box of tissues in the room would be a nice addition, but the teddy bear on the bed is a cute touch. The strict numbering of breakfast tables corresponding to room numbers seemed a bit strict, but each to their own!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastcres, Owner at Haven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2009

I do not understand why this guest has stated that the room was warm, it faces north & does not get the sun. All rooms are aired every day.
We can not be held responsible for outside noise, if the noise was from seagulls then what do you expect at the seaside, it is where they live, almost all of our guests have their windows open at night, this is the first one to complain about noise in seven years.
I hold my hand up to the missing box of tissues, they are normally in every room, so all they had to do was ask.
We number tables for a reason, our rooms have differing prices & we feel that if you are paying our premium price for our sea view four poster bed then you also deserve to have your breakfast at the table in the window with the sea view.
I would like to point out that at no time did this guest approach us to try & resolve these very minor problems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

This is an excellent B&B, exceptionally clean, excellent service with a brilliant location within Whitby. Chris and Stevie who run the establishment are very friendly and do a excellent job in ensuring that your stay is a pleasure. The breakfast too is of excellent quality served in a lovely dining room with a brilliant view of Whitby. Very highly recommended, in fact we are so happy with it, I'd say it’s the only place we would stay in Whitby.

Tony & Joanne

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyJoanneYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#15 of 155 in Whitby
633 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Guest House

Address: 4 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $42 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury guest house on the west cliff at Whitby, managed by the owners Chris & Stevie Connell. Close to all amenities. King size fourposter beds & sea views, all rooms ensuite, Memory foam mattresses on some beds, WiFi available, welcome trays and flat screen TVs in every room, full English breakfast included. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing