We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haven Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Whitby
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hudsons(Whitby)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveler rating
448
54
21
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
448
54
21
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseb bfour poster bedsea viewtoastfull english breakfastperfect hostscooked breakfastwarm welcomeattention to detailtea coffeeexcellent locationlovely weekendlovely guesthouseenjoyable staywest clifflovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 528 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Birthday weekend road trip unexpectedly ended up in Whitby. Hadn't booked. Very lucky they had 1 room left. Couldn't of wished for better for our final night! Location is fabulous! Top of West cliff with stunning views. Short (3 min) walk down into town or other way to beach. View from room 2 was excellent (sea and abbey view). Spotlessly clean and super comfy 4 poster bed with lots of pillows. Room 2 is on the small side but for 1 night wasn't an issue. Breakfast was delicious and Stevie was a lovely, very friendly and witty hostess. You do pre order night before. Breakfast 8.30am - 9am is a bit strict and a short timescale. However we didn't leave dining room until after 9.30 (so no rush) and had a lot of fun too. If you're in room 2 you also get the best table in front of the window - great view :) There are a few seemingly bossy signs around but hey they just want to keep up the high standard! Free Wifi. Free parking permit. There is parking outside although no spaces at the time so had to drive around a little and parked not too far up the road. Will definitely stay again. Great find! Thank you :)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband chose the Haven for our weekend away and he could not have chose anywhere better. The outside looked very charming and welcoming. We arrived early and were greeted by Stevie who was a lovely lady. She told us the room was ready then offered us a coffee and gave us a parking slip to pop in the car window so it was free parking.Our room (3) has a beautiful four poster bed and all the furnishings are 5 star. Christy bed linen, beautiful curtains, 3 plump pillows each. There was plenty of hanging space in the gorgeous wardrobe and the bathroom is fantastic. Amazing choice of breakfast to set you up for the day. The Haven is In a great location and you will not be disappointed with this B&B.

Room Tip: Room 3, gorgeous four poster bed. Hmm nice and comfy
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Another excellent stay at the Haven, which we just can't fault and we do intend to return, but, please Stevie, can you please not have as many house rule notices on display!! Suggest all notices be condensed in the Room Information Folder in a more friendly tone. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank troytempest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I wanted to surprise my fiancée with a trip to whitby for her birthday as she has always wanted to return, after looking at different b&b/hotels I chose the haven guest house, it was amazing, clean great area looking over the sea, we were made to feel at home, all the staff were fantastic and the breakfast in the morning what can I say I'm missing them soo much already, all in all we both loved staying there and would love to return and stay there again. 10/10
There's lots to do and see in Whitby - boat trips bus tours the steam bus was a must and 199 steps to the abbey was a workout and as much fish and chips to last a life time.

Room Tip: Using the haven website you can do a street view tour round the haven and choose the room you want
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at the Haven the for the second time, and I am very glad to have found this beautiful B&B. Lets start with the location: Just a good 100 meters from the Cpt Cook Monument, and only a short walk to the west side of the harbor, it is perfectly located if you do not have a car for exploring whitby. The view from the front side of the house is fantastic. The rooms are spotless clean and very nicely decorated, although they are quite small. The breakfast is excellent, and Stevie goes a long way to make sure that you have everything you need (my girlfriend is lactose intolerant, and we have never ever encountered a host that considerate. Thank you so much). The absolute best part of the Haven are Chris and Stevie themselves, who are working very hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible, and are always available for a nice talk.

Places and people like this are hard to find. I'm looking forward to visit the Haven again!

Room Tip: Room 2 is top notch! Best view, best breakfast table, gorgeous bed.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis_Brakmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews