We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab weekend had by us all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haven Guest House
Ranked #29 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fab weekend had by us all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

so, we arrived in the morning to a very friendly, very happy Landlady who directed us to our rooms and gave us advice on whats good and not. The rooms were modern, clean, warm with tea and coffee available. we were in one of the rooms that is at the back of the Hotel however, our families were in other rooms with a great view. could not fault anything about the Guest House at all, from friendly staff, good food, great rooms and ease of paying/checking in and out.
would recomend this to anyone who wants a cheap and cheerful hotel.
tip: at the back of the hotel are some holiday cottages, behind those is a carpark that is reasonable and puts the guest house within easy distance.
love Whitby and cant wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigybaby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    49
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
338
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I have gone to Whitby every year for the last 8 years and have stayed in various B&Bs. We can honestly say that this weekends stay at The Haven has been the best by far. We are both believers of excellent customer service and Stevie made sure of that. The room was immaculately clean and had a super view. The breakfast was well presented and piping hot. We will definitely be visiting The Haven on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 431JohnWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Return visit to Haven. Same high standards as our previous stay. We had room1 which is a lovely light room with a beautiful view & a lovely comfy bed. This is a super guest house in a fantastic location, Stevie is a great host who keeps a lovely house in tip top condition.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulanerDewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Excellent location near town centre, close to some lovely restaurants and pubs, didn't want to come home.
Breakfast was a full english and was all nicely cooked. loads of tea and coffee on tap. It was a very friendly atmosphere and we were made to feel very welcomed. The room was beautiful and we had a lovely view over looking the sea and harbour. Fresh towels and tea and coffee in the room.it was perfect and we will defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is our 4th stay at the Haven B+B at Whitby. It is ideally located with a beautiful view of the Abbey and piers and out to sea.
We cannot recommend it enough, the proprietors ar every welcoming, and the premises are very well kept and immaculately clean. The rooms are very comfortable with ensuite wc/shower, fresh towels, also biscuits, tea/coffee facilities.
An excellent breakfast is served to suit you individual needs at your own table by your very cheery and friendly hostess as soon a you arrive in the breakfast room, the table number corresponds with your room number. There is a wide selection of cereals, fresh fruit and fruit juice available, whilst bacon / sausage/eggs are resourced at a local farm and is complemented by oven cooked mushrooms/tomatoes and hash browns. Toast/Marmelade/tea/coffee in abundance if required. Well worth a visit when staying at Whitby, no need to look elsewhere.
Only downside is ........you need to book in advance as the Haven is very popular, once you've been, you will definitely want to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaureenandGraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This is the first stay in Whitby for me and my husband. A New Year short break that was well worth the money. Stevie and Chris look after you taking care of all the important details, food and room luxuries, to ensure your stay is of a high standard. Parking a little sparce and our room had a low (part) ceiling which could be problematic for some. We will return later in the year and look forward to our next visit. Recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homersmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Ms Stevie welcomed us in a wonderful way, we really felt home from the first moment. She has a real passion for hosting guests and you can see it in all the details of the B&B, like the well cooked breakfast and the facilities. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The view is unique. We enjoyed our holiday here a lot.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a gorgeous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#141 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#21 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandbeck
The Sandbeck
#37 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Guest House

Property: Haven Guest House
Address: 4 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury guest house on the west cliff at Whitby, managed by the owners Chris & Stevie Connell. Close to all amenities. King size fourposter beds & sea views, all rooms ensuite, Memory foam mattresses on some beds, WiFi available, welcome trays and flat screen TVs in every room, full English breakfast included. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing