We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming”
Review of Haven Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haven Guest House
Ranked #32 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“warm and welcoming”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We could not fault this lovey friendly guest house. Stevie and Chris were so friendly and welcoming.Spotlessly clean, beautiful bedrooms and excellent breakfast. We were only passing through Wihtby so only stayed a night. but should we ever go again we would not hesiate to stay there again and would highly recommend them to anyone staying at Whitby. Tank you Stevie and Chris for an ejoyable stay, hope to see you again!

Anna and Alan
4th October 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaBask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    53
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
355
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hi There,
During our recent visit to the UK from Australia we visited Whitby which we love and try to get back every year,we have stayed in the larger hotels on previous visits and recieved less than the amount charged,Late in the afternoon and looking for accomadation we came upon the Haven Guest House where thank god there was a vacancy
We had a look at the rooms and where very impressed indeed quality fixtures and fittings and attention to detail with great decor through out,we booked for 3 nights then exstended for another two and felt very much at home with Steve and his wife Chris whom provides a very nice breakfast.
The location is very good,and parking outside the door if your quick, and a ten min walk into town and the harbour etc,we would return next time in Whitby,if there is any downside at all no credit cards,and a need for internet in todays world they are taken as the norm when making a booking but dont let it put you off or you will miss out on a quality stay along with value for money.

Room Tip: We looked at them all we had a double over looking the sea upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Another fabulous stay ( our second this year ) at the Haven. Spotlessly clean, top quality beds, beautiful breakfast - copious amounts of tea and toast !!! ( Stevie has a witty, dry lovely sense of humour - which obviously some people lack ) We ve been going at least once a year since Stevie and Chris openend - had good laugh with them as per usual.Once again thanks to them for their hospitality. Anne and Adrian ( and cousins!)

Room Tip: All quiet comfy rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniehughes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The title of this review says it all this is our 3rd stay at the Haven and it just keeps getting better. The same friendly welcome, the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms and the 5* breakfast what more can you need. Stevie and Chris you are a team worthy of premier league status nothing is too much trouble you both make it feel like a home from home long may it continue. The fantastic reviews the Haven receives show what a great place it is to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaQ02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

me and my wife stayed last night for our anniversary and as always excellant all round,having stayed many times before the rooms are spot on,superb location,great hosts and the breakfast is top draw,highly recommended and looking forward to returning next time,shaun+helen:0)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

this was our second time at the haven and once again the service and hospitality was excellent , the rooms are 1st class for cleanliest and comfort , and may i say the Breakfast is outstanding and delivered to your table with a smile , will definitely be staying here again highly recommended

Room Tip: if you like a great view you need rooms 1 - 2 - 5 -6 We have stayed in rooms 5 and 6 both excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brakescraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I keep reading a lot of statements that say the hosts are attentive and nothing is too much for them. Well when we stayed there that just wasn't true. You have to decide what you want for breakfast the minute you enter the place. As a matter of fact it is decided for you when the hostess "suggests" : "Full english ok?"!
The next morning you can't change the order. You only get a small can of tea between two people and if you dare ask for more, well try it for yourself and see what happens.
The hostess doesn't offer more tea or toast and you are made to feel a nuisance if you dare ask for more.
The rooms are clean but very small.
They also don't take card or cheque payment, which you only find out once you are there. So you have to have cash ready. Also no receipts are given unless you ask for it.
Personally I found the hostess a little overbearing and unprofessional. Whilst the location is excellent, there are many other places in the same area which I would rather suggest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.5 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#12 of 20 in Whitby
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#8 of 151 in Whitby
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pathway Guest House
The Pathway Guest House
#57 of 151 in Whitby
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#20 of 151 in Whitby
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Guest House

Property: Haven Guest House
Address: 4 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury guest house on the west cliff at Whitby, managed by the owners Chris & Stevie Connell. Close to all amenities. King size fourposter beds & sea views, all rooms ensuite, Memory foam mattresses on some beds, WiFi available, welcome trays and flat screen TVs in every room, full English breakfast included. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing