We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haven Guest House
Ranked #29 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The break was arranged by our children as a surprise for my 50th birthday. What a brilliant place to stay so friendly, clean and comfortable will cetainly be returning. We would recommend The Haven to any family and friends wanting a home from home! With grateful thanks Anita and Shaun Quinn.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnitaQ02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    49
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
338
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We've stayed at the Haven Guess House 5 years on the trot and we've alway had a warm welcome, the rooms are beautiful and immaculately clean,Chris and Stevie have always made us feel really welcome and will go out of there way to make your stay as good has they can.The breakfasts are lovely and all made will locally source produce.It takes 5 minutes to walk into Whitby where there is some lovely little gift shops theres the 199 steps upto the Addey if you want to take a trip out of Whitby theres the railway station and bus station in the town centre.

Room Tip: All the rooms ive stayed in have been lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busterbo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We've stayed at the Haven Guest House several times, and each time we have thoroughly enjoyed it. The place is always spotless and the breakfasts are great!
The hosts are very welcoming and make you feel at home, especially Stevie. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Every room we have stayed in has been excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torky-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

I have been visiting the hotel with both my mother and my partner for several years, and each stay has been excellent.
The standards of cleanliness are exceedingly good, the rooms beautiful and well - maintained, and the hosts warm and welcoming, which makes for a very enjoyable break away.
Chris and Stevie seem to constantly strive to improve the experience with every visit, such as new toiletries in the bathrooms (which were lovely) and considering that we loved the place from the first visit, this must take some doing! What shines through is the evident pride the owners take in the guest house.
Breakfast was of excellent quality, well cooked and definately a great way to start the day in the seaview dining room.
We hope to have many happy visits to the Haven for years to come!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Home away from home, very welcoming owners, unbelievably clean and the breakfast was just scrummy! My gals and I would definately return to The Haven, its a little bit of Heaven its deserves 10* in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freewilamena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

I have just come back from Whitby and can only say that we had a really fantastic stay at the Haven. Stevie and Chris are accomadating, easy going and always happy. We arrived early in whitby and stopped off at the Haven to see when we could book in as it was only just lunch time. Chris answered the door to us with a big smile on his face and told us that the room was ours and we could use it straight away. He then got his wife to explaine things while he carried on cleaning. My type of man lololo. The Haven is spotlessly clean and the room we had overlooked the cresent and had a lovely see view. It is a 5 minute walk from the old town and has a vast array of leaflets with things to do. Stevie will also give you tips and advice on things to do. She even found a bus timetable when my hubby complained about going on a coastal walk.... All in all a really lovely weekend and 2 great hosts we would definatly stay there again xx

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamazzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

This was our first trip to Whitby and what a beautiful place it is. The Haven is in a perfect postion, with fantastic views from room 2! The room was to exceptional standards. Clean, tidy and with an excellent breakfast, you could not ask for more!! Only down side, is that parking is a bit of a lottery!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lambretta22001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#138 of 152 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#19 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandbeck
The Sandbeck
#39 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Guest House

Property: Haven Guest House
Address: 4 East Crescent, Whitby YO21 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury guest house on the west cliff at Whitby, managed by the owners Chris & Stevie Connell. Close to all amenities. King size fourposter beds & sea views, all rooms ensuite, Memory foam mattresses on some beds, WiFi available, welcome trays and flat screen TVs in every room, full English breakfast included. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing