We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b&b, excellent hosts”
Review of The Full English

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Full English
Ranked #32 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely b&b, excellent hosts”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed one night at The Full English and couldn't rate it highly enough. Our room was clean and well decorated with everything we needs for our stay. Breakfast was excellent and the location was within walking distance of everything. The best thing about this place is the hosts, really friendly, helpful and keen to ensure you enjoy your stay. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gderbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
189
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A very warm welcome by owners Gary And Sue who made us feel like part of the family. We were shown to our room which was modern, homely and spotless. The breakfast certainly live up to the reviews and if you wanted something different there was no problem. Gary was ready with our pot of tea as we sat down each morning. If we needed advice they were there to guide. We stayed for 3 nights and I wish it could have been more. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Sept 15 for one night, we stayed in the deluxe double room. It was nice enough, clean and tidy, comfy bed, plenty of space, nice sized bathroom. The only thing I would say is there was no products, like shower gel / bubble bath etc. It's really well located for strolling to the sea front and parking outside was really easy. It's true the tv is tiny but to be fair I'd like to think you'd be going out anyway as a previous reviewer said! The breakfast really was fabulous and set us up for the day ahead, and the owners were lovely people. Really well priced so would definitely recommend if you were going to Whitby for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynsnpaul_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

we have just returned from a wonderful stay in Whitby.
The full English was a wonderful place to stay the breakfast one of which was vegetarian was superb with as much toast coffee etc as we wanted.
Gary and Lyn were wonderful hosts nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in room 5 which was spacious tastefully decorated with a very comfy bed.
We will be staying there again.we cant fault it.
Ashley & Rachel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lillypopsbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good position to walk into town. Couple of good pubs on the way into town. The whole place was very clean. Good breakfast, in fact excellent breakfast. Hosts were both very friendly and helpful. Because we booked this break so late we were left with the only room available and it was room 2. After reading some previous reviews we knew that one of the rooms was on the small side and it happened to be our room. The room itself is very nicely decorated and the bathroom did what it said on the tin , but on a wet weekend in whitby the room was small with a v small TV to watch. There was only one chair to sit on. You got the feeling that if you spent too long in the room you would start to get cabin fever. That said we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend in Whitby staying at the Full English. Perfect B & B very clean and modern rooms, friendly hosts who make you welcome and relaxed. The breakfast was superb and served promptly. It was nice to be served a decent size pot of tea with breakfast and not having to collar someones eye for a refil like you do in so many hotels. Just can't fault this gem highly recommend and ideally located for a short walk to the shops, harbour and beach. Will defo stay here again when we return to Whitby.

Room Tip: Room 3 light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mignon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having stayed in Whitby numerous times, we've sampled many of the B&Bs on offer, this is amongst the best of them! The place is clean and bright, nicely decorated. Owners really friendly and chatty and breakfast was nice. Rooms aren't massive, but that's typical of the type of place it is, and, to be honest, who needs a massive room? People who find fault with the sizeof the TV need to get out more in my opinion; there's far too much to do in Whitby to be staying in the room watching television! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#38 of 151 in Whitby
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#123 of 151 in Whitby
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#14 of 151 in Whitby
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#17 of 151 in Whitby
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 52 in Whitby
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Full English? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Full English

Property: The Full English
Address: 9 John Street, Whitby YO21 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 4 bedroom guest house. All rooms ensuite, 3 doubles,and 1 triple/double room. Hospitality trays in all rooms , award winning full english breakfast.Free on street parking , and off road parking for motor bikes. Early check in by arrangement.4 star rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Full English reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Full English Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing