We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.”
Review of The Full English

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Full English
Ranked #32 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

On arrival Lyn made us feel really welcome very friendly and helpful. Our room was decorated really tastefully and was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was faultless served in a lovely bright dining room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathbirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
191
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great B+B warm welcoming hosts, very clean and comfortable. very close to centre of Whitby. we have stayed in quite a few B+Bs in Whitby but this one had the best breakfast by far. will definately be back, Thankyou. Sue + Graham, Southport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The reviews we read here, made the decision easy and we were not disappointed!

As everyone else has already said, you are made very welcome.

The rooms are spotless and beautifully done, and would suit a variety of decor tastes. we had the smallest room, which I was a bit peeved about (no other rooms were available anyway), after reading someones comments about it being small, however, it was a really good size! So no issues there.

The owners made a lot of effort to engage their guests and nothing was too much trouble. For example, recommending restaurants, pubs and interesting places to visit, that would best fit the individuals interests, were very helpful.

Also, B&B was minutes away from the center of Whitby.

We will be staying here again as well as recommending to others.

Thank you Lynn and Gary.

Maria and Louise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We will stay here again, very clean, decorated tastefully. The breakfast was excellant. We managed to park outside on the street. It was close to the pubs,and restaurants This is the best B7B that we havbe stayed at in Whitby.
Thank you both. Susan & Mark

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great B+B this with the friendliest hosts you'll ever likely to meet and with a comfortable and well decorated room all followed up with a first class full english what more could you want from a B+B.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullGlobetrotter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Found this on Late Rooms and really glad we did. Gary and Lyn were really welcoming but not 'in your face'. The breakfasts were beautiful, didnt need any lunch either day - think that says it all! We were in Room 4, on the smaller size as other reviews have mentioned but beautifully clean and perfectly lovely for a romantic weekend. Would go back again tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidMarian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortiesfloozy
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Full English is THE cleanest accommodation i've ever stayed in, i hate to call this gem a guest house because the service and standard is far higher than some so-called five star hotels! From the minute you walk in the door you KNOW you've made the right choice, our room was bright and modern although retaining the character of the building with high ceilings, coving etc, the shower room was beautiful and spacious, the bed was very comfortable with crisp white linen with throws and pillows to snuggle down with, in the bay window there is a seating area and through the arch is another room with a single bed etc. (a hairdryer is supplied) Breakfast was perfect with local produce sourced as much as possible ,nothing being too much trouble for superwoman Lyn ;) The location is perfect with the town within easy walking distance with lots to see and do. We can't praise The Full English enough, it's rare to find somewhere to stay that hits all the right notes these days or that cares so much about delivering that perfect service..you got it goin' on guys, those 4/5 star hotels could learn so much from you :)...can't wait to come back..IF you'll have us ;)

Room Tip: ALL rooms are lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortiesfloozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#11 of 151 in Whitby
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#121 of 151 in Whitby
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#19 of 151 in Whitby
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Station Inn Whitby
The Station Inn Whitby
#82 of 151 in Whitby
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Full English? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Full English

Property: The Full English
Address: 9 John Street, Whitby YO21 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 4 bedroom guest house. All rooms ensuite, 3 doubles,and 1 triple/double room. Hospitality trays in all rooms , award winning full english breakfast.Free on street parking , and off road parking for motor bikes. Early check in by arrangement.4 star rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Full English reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Full English Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing