We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosslyn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosslyn House
Ranked #6 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant hotel and wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent a couple of days at the Rosslyn this summer and will definitely book again. Beautifully furnished and very clean. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Jo and Patsy were wonderful offering help and advice throughout our stay. Took my elderly parents and daughter. My parents had a double room with ensuite and since returning have been telling all their friends that it's the best B&B they've stayed in. My daughter and I had a lovely large room which could sleep up to 3 people and had space to relax in armchairs in front of the TV. Plenty of sachets of various hot drinks and little cartons of milk available in your room.....loved the hot chocolate.
Thank you Jo and Patsy. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
206
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

second time of visiting this wonderful b&b,you will not be disapointed,friendly welcome,can not be more helpful,wonderful food,very clean,feels like home,please stop here if in whitby 5 star,jo and patsy make you feel like you have known them for years

Room Tip: family room great for young familys
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

dont bother looking anywhere else in whitby if anyone tells you there is a better guest house for the money in whitby there lieing the rooms are great very clean the breakfast is excellent and patsy and jo are perfect hosts
its situated in a perfect position with a nice short walk into town i would recommend this place to anyone and if your a motorcyclist the girls let you park your bike in a secure yard round the back... top marks ladies see you again sometime

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wudy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidsgrove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Excellent welcome they helped us with parking our car,very clean accomodation well furnished.
English breakfast was excellent.
Our large room was in the attic but we were warned before hand.
we would recommend any one to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arthur j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay in Whitby at Rosslyn and all I can say is fantastic. Best hotel we,ve stayed at in uk as a family. We have two young children and the family room was ideal. Everywhere was spotless, Jo and Patsy are so friendly and welcoming and made our stay perfect. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Whitby. Excellent.

Room Tip: The family room on the top floor is brilliant if you have little ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

its hard to know where to start,this is our 2nd visit and we were not disappointed,Jo and Patsy run a fabulous guest house,the rooms are spotless and well decorated,lovely firm bed which we like.Jo cooks a fantastic breakfast made from good quality local produce,its hard to resist a full english every morning!The ladies are brilliant,very enthusiastic,nothing is too much trouble and are full of advise and tips for the area.our next visit will probably be a winter break,in short we would recommend this guest house to anyone.

Room Tip: the guest house is on a quiet street just off the seafront so all the rooms are fairly quiet apart f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moontown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Totally fantastic place to stay so warming and welcoming and the owners couldnt help and please us enough. The room was spotless and had a lovoly decor and feel to the place. Breakfast was perfect, lots of choice and nothing was asking too much. 5+ * stay to me and will certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truth1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn House

Property: Rosslyn House
Address: 11 Abbey Terrace, Whitby YO21 3HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosslyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 Star, Silver Award, guesthouse. Quality accommodation in large newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms in a central location on West Cliff. Free Wifi and Parking Permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosslyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing