We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great hosts.”
Review of Dillons of Whitby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dillons of Whitby
Ranked #6 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at dillons for 2 nights in June. We had the Troon room which was nice and quiet and adequate in size, with lovely decor and furniture. The room had a really comfy bed with high quality bedding and towels. The house was a lovely period property in a good location to walk to whitby harbour and everything was clean and in good condition. We were also pleased we were able to park in one of the car parking spaces that belonged to dillons and not in one of the streets away from the property. Matt and Craig are great they have excellent customer service skills and there wasn't anything they could have done any better. Fantastic welcome with tea and cake, the breakfasts were excellent. The daily special they offered was an added bonus for those not wanting a full english. I had cheesy eggs with bacon and it was delicious and filling and came with a lovely chutney. I did also get to see the Toulouse room and this was a really beautiful room and would be perfect for a special occasion. To summarise the place had a lovely feel with extra touches, homemade biscuits left in the room on the second day, Matt and Craig are fantastic hosts and make it special and I would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grogi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 718 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Dillons in Whitby during late May and had a fantastic time. The welcome is genuine and Matt and Craig are great hosts. The rooms were clean, comfortable and furnished to a high standard with little touches that make the stay different. We were given great advice on local restaurants and night life and this appeared tailored to our needs. The breakfast was unbelieveable. Best we've had in any B&B or hotel in years. Can't wait to return. Top class.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandAnn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights middle of June.booked on the strength of reviews on trip advisor.wish it had been for the whole week,spotlessly clean,fantastic breakfast,great hosts,fantastic rooms -5 mins walk to town centre or try a walk through the park which is opposite the B&B.would definitely recommend,and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baltymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I can only say that all the reviews that we have read are spot on. Craig and Matthew were excellent hosts. The room was lovely and the breakfasts were excellent. Dillons is situated in an excellent position in the Town, opposite a beautiful park, which we made a point of walking through at least once a day. We like to use public transport where ever we go in the world so we can relax and see more of the countryside and found it easy to bus to Robin Hood Bay, Scarborough and Staithes. Our first day was spent on the Steam Train to Pickering which was well worth the journey. North Yorkshire is a very beautiful part of our Country and when we return, we know exactly where we will stay - Dillons of Whitby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JinnaWinkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights from 10th June and were delighted with the room, the food, and the hosts were great.The location was only a few minutes walk from the sea front.
We were given all the help we needed and lots of advise on what to do and where to visit.
Our room overlooked the park and was perfect for us.We look forward to our next stay with Matt and Craig.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

June 6, 2013- We stayed two nights at Dillon's and wish it was 2 weeks! Matt & Craig went out of their way to make our stay in Whitby memorable. We have not been at a B&B that was cleaner and the room and amenities were like new and spotless! The location is great for accessing downtown with a beautiful city park across the street. The Toulouse room is excellent. We would stay here again though we are from the states and wish it was closer to home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoBankers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here with my friend Magaret on 7th June 2013 for two nights. I would just like to say what a woinderful experience it was. We were thoroughly spoilt the whole time of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Craig & Matthew catered for our every need, made us really feel at home & I would definitely recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone. The room was top class, spotless, comfortable bed with facilities for tea & coffee making, clean towels & white dressing gowns.
FANTASTIC weekend!!!

Regards DI

Room Tip: Clean & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Di R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#3 of 152 in Whitby
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillons of Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillons of Whitby

Address: 14 Chubb Hill Road, Whitby YO21 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $111 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dillons of Whitby 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dillons, Whitby's only 5 star accredited, Michelin recommended accommodation provider, is the perfect recipe for a successful 21st-century seaside B&B - contemporary elegance and modern convenience with a healthy dose of traditional warmth and hospitality. Overlooking beautiful Pannett Park with its delightful Art Gallery and Museum, Dillons has the added benefit of on-site parking for the majority of guests and secure on-site parking for motorbikes and cycles. A 5 minute walk brings you to the heart of our beautiful and historic seaside town with its mutitude of excellent eateries, bars, cafes and unique shops. As your hosts, Mathew and Craig, we are committed to making your stay memorable. Whether you’re simply looking for a few hassle-free days away, are on business in the area or celebrating a special occasion, we’re happy to chat to you about your individual requirements. Each of our five guest rooms has its own unique theme with decorating inspiration taken from around the globe. All rooms are well proportioned doubles or king size and have a flat-screen television with integrated DVD, an iPod docking station, free wireless internet access and a stylish en suite bathroom with white porcelain fixtures, travertine tiles, fluffy towels and bathrobes, and toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames. At Dillons our award winning breakfast is quite simply 'the most important meal of the day'. Whether you choose to sample the variety of fresh fruits, berries, nuts & seeds and cereals including our famous homemade granola from our buffet or a hot breakfast cooked to order from our menu, we endeavour to cater for your individual requirements catering for special dietary requirements as part of our service. Add to this our seasonal specialities and kippers from Fortunes of Whitby and we are confident that there will be something to tempt you. We take pride in our vegetarian options and source our foods locally where possible using only the freshest ingredients. A multitude of stand out reviews from our wonderful guests coupled with a host of media reviews and feature articles reassure us as owners that the attention to detail, high standards of housekeeping and warmth of hospitality will make your stay at Dillons truly memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Dillons of Whitby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dillons Of Whitby Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing