We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable stay. 5*”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arches Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arches Guesthouse
Ranked #23 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay. 5*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at The Arches for a Birthday treat over the bank holiday weekend and I can honestly say it was the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The room was immaculate, the bed was very comfortable and you have everything you need to hand. We were made to feel very welcome by all. You have a varied choice of breakfast which is cooked beautifully and is very filling. Yes, you are asked to pre-order the night before, but so what?? We will definitely stay here again and We have already recommend 'The Arches' to my parents who are visiting Whitby next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
92
230
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay at the Arches guesthouse in Whitby. I can't really add anything further to the existing reviews. This place is FANTASTIC. We struggled to find a B&B suitable to take our 4 month old and simply happened across the Arches website - it looked reasonable so I called to enquire and booked over the 'phone. Dave was extremely helpful on the telephone and on arrival we were checked straight in - as others have mentioned we had tea and brownies on arrival, assistance with our luggage, offered a map and given some tips on where to eat. We were pretty much left to our own devices but it was made clear that the owners were on hand if you needed anything.

Yes you have to pre-order breakfast but so what - a full English or kippers, or any variation thereof. If it wasn't listed, all you had to do was ask. Home made jams, marmalade, honey, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and juices available as well as toast, tea and coffee of course.

Our room wasn't huge, but it was plenty big enough with a dresser, TV, hairdryer, small wardrobe, ensuite shower room and large sash window. It was furnished in a contemporary style and clean.

I felt that the service received was very personal - for example on arrival in the dining room you were greeted by either Dave or Laura who knew exactly who you were and what room you were in - a small thing perhaps but made us feel very at home.

The guest house is a traditional terrace B&B a 5 minute (?) walk from the beach, West Cliff attractions, town centre. Perfectly placed and not at all noisy (apart from the seagulls!!).

If we return to Whitby we will definitely return to the Arches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sairsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield W Yorks
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the second year running that we have stayed at this guesthouse....and once again we had a very enjoyable stay. The rooms were lovely and clean and very tastefully decorated. The breaksfasts are delicious. There is a good choice of cereal, fruit and juices and a perfect full english breakfast follows. You have a hospitality tray in your room which is filled daily. The owners are great and the lady who serves breakfasts is very pleasant. My only suggestion would be to take your own pillows if you can, because the ones in the rooms are very hard. I would certainly recommend The Arches Guesthouse to all.
And we would definitely stay again.
Gill and Keith

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillHedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

stayed on aug 19 for 5 nights excellent b&b stayed in attic room décor was wonderful room light & air spotless & very comfortable great welcome breakfast was best we have ever had will be staying again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melvin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Well what can I say....not alot what hasn't already been said!!! After searching for ages on the internet for somewhere to stay in Whitby we finally found THE ARCHERS.... me and my husband had decided on a last minute break with his brother and his wife to Whitby when we booked we where told by Laura that we would be in the 2 attic rooms,after reading the reviews on here we were a little bit sceptical...as it has been mentioned about the low ceilings and bumping your head...however on our arrival we had a warm welcome from Dave and his staff,we had coffee and home made brownies taken up to our rooms..
When we saw our rooms we were more than pleased..spotlessly clean! Beautiful decor! Lots of character with the original beams ! ...and although I am 5 ft 7 the hubby is 5.11. I am happy to say we had no bumped heads in the 3 nights we stayed ;-) the room is fab,so don't be put off...in fact I they think the 2 attic rooms are perfect for families with teenagers,because there is a door at the bottom of the stairs to the rooms ...then the rooms are opposite each other,so giving the feeling of connecting rooms..it was almost like our own private penthouse..i would certainly return to the hotel again,and if travelling with another couple,deffinitely ask for the"penthouse" ;-) big thanks to Dave and co.for helping make our stay in Whitby so enjoyable...
.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewrighties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

On our arrival at the Arches we received a very warm welcome from Dave, who brought coffee and cookies to our room and gave us lots of useful information. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet with tea and coffee making facilities and a spotless en-suite shower room. There was a great choice for breakfast - a variety of cooked breakfasts, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and home-made preserves - and the quality of the food and service was excellent. The Arches is in a great location with everything only a short walk away - we really enjoyed our 2 night stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suegr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

A very warm welcome from the minute you step in, Dave made us feel at home and allowed us to settle in, but was around should we require anything, child friendly as well. The staff were warm and welcoming to.

Bedrooms are great, very comfortable and spacious, with everything you need. Great value for money.

Breakfast - great choice and as my daughter puts it -YUMMY. Lovely home cooked food, with a wide range to choose from and they do child portions as well for the younger guests.

Location is great, beach and the town is a short walk away, useful if you don't have access to a car.

Will definitely stay at The Arches again. A big thank you to Dave and his team for making our holiday so enjoyable..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#19 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#22 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#37 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#12 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arches Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arches Guesthouse

Property: Arches Guesthouse
Address: 8 Havelock Place | Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a Victorian, 4 star, family run Guest House. We are situated conveniently on Whitby’s West Cliff which is only a 5 minute stroll from town, the harbour or beach. Our Stylishly decorated rooms have Egyptian cotton bedding and towels, complementary refreshments, Wi-Fi, and modern flat screen TVs. Each of our double, twin, & family rooms are en-suite, and our single rooms each have private bathrooms. We offer generous breakfasts including full English, vegetarian and daily specials, as well as fresh fruit salad, home baked muffins (baked daily), homemade marmalade and preserves, not to mention real coffee! A warm welcome on arrival starting with the offer of a pot of tea or coffee helping you to relax straight away; would you like another homemade cookie…………? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arches Guesthouse Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing