We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Arches Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arches Guesthouse
Ranked #27 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at the Arches for two nights and what an enjoyable stay it was. Dave and Laura are wonderful hosts. The food was fantastic, especially the homemade blueberry muffins. The room was emmaculate. Perfectly situated, just a short stroll from the town centre. We'll be staying here again next time we visit Whitby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristfiwip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
92
234
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at The Arches Guesthouse for four days in Mid-October. As a single female traveller I was looking for somewhere that offered a family atmosphere and a warm welcome. I was not disapointed. Although I had booked a single room, the hotel was quiet so I was placed in a double en-suite at no extra charge. The room itself was very clean and comfortable and well supplied with good quality toiletries.

I soon discovered that Laura and Dave are great hosts who believe in feeding their guests well. Not only do they greet you with a pot of tea or coffee and homemade brownies, their breakfasts were so generous that I didn't need to eat again until 6pm! Laura's homemade banana cake is fabulous!

On the last day of my stay I had to check out at 10.30am, but was not due to catch my train until 4pm. Laura very kindly let me leave my luggage at the B&B and allowed me to collect it later.

I will definately be returning next year and would highly recommend The Arches for those looking for a relaxing break in Whitby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently used the Arches Guesthouse as a bolt hole to escape from work for three days. Laura and Dave proved to be the perfect hosts. This is one of the nicest B & B´s that I have stayed in.

I stayed in a double room, which was offered for the price of a single as all the singles were booked, which was a real deal. The room was impeccably decorated and maintained. Tea and coffee were on offer in the room, as was a complete set of soaps/shampoos/hand cream.

The breakfast truly deserved it´s award. Within reason, everything that the heart desires is on offer, down to locally caught kippers. Brilliant. This great breakfast set me up for the rest of the day.

I would thoroughly recommend this guesthouse to anybody wishing to stay in Whitby. Laura and Dave have an initmate knowledge of Whitby and the surrounding area, and were ready to part with this knowledge at the drop of a hat.

Whitby is a fantastic coastal town, and this wonderful guesthouse does Whitby proud.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Got back last night and just had to write this. We have got to say this has to be the number 1 choice for anybody, where can we start? On arrival, Dave and Laura offered us tea, coffee, and warm milk for our three year old (even though we were late on arrival there). The accommodation was spotless throughout, we stayed in a family room, which was spot on, with plenty of room, very comfy beds, and quality bedding. In the morning, we had a fabulous breakfast. All in all, a perfect place to stay with the perfect hosts, we will definitely stay again , and have already reccommended it to friends. By the way, the homemade cake is a must!

Room Tip: Family rooms have plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2wisemonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

i have got to say that the arches guesthouse was a joy to stay at; the rooms were lovely and so clean; the breakfast was great; and the hosts dave and laura were so helpful and friendly; nothing was too much trouble; would certainly stay there again. i have already recommended the arches to my brother and his wife. brilliant place ......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie1962474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We are staying here for a short break and are really impressed with the standards. We were warmly greated and served tea or coffee and homemade chocolate brownie. Everywhere is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The room is light and airy with a good selection of drinks on the hospitality tray. There is an excellent choice of breakfast with locally sourced produce for the full english and a speciallity of the day (smoked sausage and bacon with mushrooms and vine tomatoes on one day and local kippers with poached eggs on the other). Fresh fruit salad and homemade breakfast bars and banana bread were also available.
It was easy to book through their website and you can choose your room from those available. Dave and Laura are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble, they are warm and friendly. We will definitely recommend this accomodation to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbowsendEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first stay in Whitby and we were not disappointed. Dave and Laura are great hosts and the food is superb. Their local knowledge and advice on resteraunts is very useful. The rooms are comfortable and spotless and the location is very good, we would certainly return to The Arches the next time we are in Whitby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandGailW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#18 of 151 in Whitby
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corra Lynn
Corra Lynn
#11 of 151 in Whitby
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#2 of 151 in Whitby
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Guesthouse
Seacrest Guesthouse
#37 of 151 in Whitby
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arches Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arches Guesthouse

Property: Arches Guesthouse
Address: 8 Havelock Place | Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arches is a Victorian, 4 star, family run Guest House. We are situated conveniently on Whitby’s West Cliff which is only a 5 minute stroll from town, the harbour or beach. Our Stylishly decorated rooms have Egyptian cotton bedding and towels, complementary refreshments, Wi-Fi, and modern flat screen TVs. Each of our double, twin, & family rooms are en-suite, and our single rooms each have private bathrooms. We offer generous breakfasts including full English, vegetarian and daily specials, as well as fresh fruit salad, home baked muffins (baked daily), homemade marmalade and preserves, not to mention real coffee! A warm welcome on arrival starting with the offer of a pot of tea or coffee helping you to relax straight away; would you like another homemade cookie…………? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arches Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Guesthouse Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing