We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Whitby

“Delightful”
Review of Mademoiselles

Mademoiselles
Ranked #3 of 226 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Description: Mademoiselles is a French Style cafe bistro with a cozy, quirky ImaGinarium, an intriguing ‘La Cave du Sous sol’ ( cellar bar) & pretty courtyard. Opening 5 days a week, on Tuesday and Wednesday we open 10.30-16.00 during the day and 18.00-22.30 in the Evening. Thursday, Friday & Saturday we are open from 10.30-23.00 When we offer a 2 & 3 course set menu serving from 5.30p -8.45pm. Great wine list & amazing Gin menu which is growing by the day! The bistro is elegantly styled, in relaxing, comfortable surroundings. An amazing log fire during the winter months is not to be missed. Although we don't allow dogs in the bistro we have a courtyard where they would be most welcome! Our food is French & rustic in style, the menu is small & has been carefully chosen so that there is something for everyone. We also have great vegetarian & vegan Options. We are now offering private dining for up to 10 in our very atmospheric ‘La Cave du Sous-Sol’. Reservations taken by phone only.
Restaurant details
Description: Mademoiselles is a French Style cafe bistro with a cozy, quirky ImaGinarium, an intriguing ‘La Cave du Sous sol’ ( cellar bar) & pretty courtyard. Opening 5 days a week, on Tuesday and Wednesday we open 10.30-16.00 during the day and 18.00-22.30 in the Evening. Thursday, Friday & Saturday we are open from 10.30-23.00 When we offer a 2 & 3 course set menu serving from 5.30p -8.45pm. Great wine list & amazing Gin menu which is growing by the day! The bistro is elegantly styled, in relaxing, comfortable surroundings. An amazing log fire during the winter months is not to be missed. Although we don't allow dogs in the bistro we have a courtyard where they would be most welcome! Our food is French & rustic in style, the menu is small & has been carefully chosen so that there is something for everyone. We also have great vegetarian & vegan Options. We are now offering private dining for up to 10 in our very atmospheric ‘La Cave du Sous-Sol’. Reservations taken by phone only.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been twice & thoroughly loved both visits
Love the eclectic decor; the staff are lovely and the food is delightful

Thank you... looking forward to our 3rd visit

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank hairycary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Come to Whitby regularly and chose here based on Tripadvisor reviews and a great looking website, ended up being so disappointed.
Arrived at 8:00pm, right on time, even had the obligatory call that morning confirming we were still coming, I had booked weeks before. The house was crammed; it was obvious they has overbooked. We were shown into a back room for the ‘where are we going to sit them’ for pre-drinks. Waited 10 minutes for someone to come back to us and ordered 2 GnT’s. Waited a further 10 minutes for the drinks, and then had to ask for the menus. Finally got seated at 8:35pm.
The table was cramped, didn’t have space to take my jacket off, the house was warm and noisy with the amount of customers. The parfait was OK, can’t really make a mess up getting a ramekin out of the fridge and toasting some bread. We both ordered the Beef Bourguignon, which is so highly regarded from earlier reviews. The meat was awful, really dry and tough. It had either not been cooked enough of left out to dry and put back in the sauce, certainly couldn’t eat it with just a fork, in fact couldn’t eat it at all.
Needless to say we left early, I’d seen enough. I did complain and because we couldn’t stomach dessert had the wine of wine deducted from the bill. The ‘goodwill’ gesture was appreciated but we had booked this some time ago really looking forward to our Saturday evening so left really disappointed.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank SimonHaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

Lovely lovely lovely!!! Limited menu, but fantastic quality food. Delicious gin cocktails, solid wine list, cosy, intimate surroundings, and decent service. Loved it! Will be back next time we’re in Whitby

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank JuAndDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Ambience in abundance. We had a fantastic meal, started of with a couple of gins that we have not tasted before, great variety to choose from. When we was seated in a cosy corner we ordered a a bottle of the house red. For starters we ordered the salmon mouse and fennel and the goats cheese, both tasted amazing. For the main we chose the beef bourguignon with vegetables and dauphinous which where a taste sensation. All this for around £80. Fantastic value so please try we loved it.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank samsK7596NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Small cosy restaurant with good food and service. Went for the specials on the board. House wine is decent.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank amandarI4236GD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mademoiselles also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Mademoiselles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing