We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bikers find a fantastic base!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middleham Guest House
Ranked #82 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bikers find a fantastic base!!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Wounderful B&B. Food perfect, room lovely. Brilliant place to base yourself and visit a fantastic area. Would and will use again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duggysv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
45
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montacute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Good location for both the beach and the town. Room very comfortable with sea view. Host and hostess very friendly and helpful. Breakfast first class. Added to our pleasant stay in a lovely town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Booked B & B based on past reviews and quite agree with previous comments. Spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, amiable hosts, good location and very nice food. We stayed in room 6, the four poster room which overlooks the church rather than the sea. It was very well appointed, with ensuite shower,hospitality tray, hairdryer etc.
Very good value for money. The hosts could not have been more friendly without being intrusive. When we return would definitely consider again. Free parking available in surrounding streets. Well done Mick and Shiela, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Mick and Sheila were lovely hosts from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 5 which was big and airy with a sea view. It had everything you need for a short break and more - books and cards were provided in your room along with the usual tea and coffee making facilities. Location was great on the north of the bay and you could walk down to the main town in 10 minutes (15 minutes back up the hill). We had dinner on Friday night in Harry's, had lunch on Saturday in Robertsons - Lovely cod/haddock and chips - and Saturday night went to Passage to India - all were excellent.
Whitby was a thoroughly lovely experience and when we go back we will stay at the Middleham.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debsnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Essex
Level Contributor
219 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

I have stayed at this B&B twice a year for the past 8 years (we go to Whitby Gothic Weekend) and always enjoy our stay. The couple who run the business, Mick & Sheila, are lovely and so is their dog! We are always made to feel at home. the rooms are clean & cosy, as is the rest of the building, with comfy beds, kettle & tv in all rooms. I would not hesitate to recommend The Middleham and always look forward to my next stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitbyabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#66 of 151 in Whitby
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#14 of 151 in Whitby
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleham Guest House

Property: Middleham Guest House
Address: 3 Church Square, Whitby YO21 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Middleham Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Middleham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing