We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Middleham Guest House
Ranked #80 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our recent stay in Whitby, 9 days, was enhanced greatly by our stay at the Middleham. Hosts Mick and Sheila went out of their way to ensure that our stay was very comfortable, like a home away from home. Our room was very clean and had nice touches to make us feel at home. The morning beakfast, included in the stay, was excellent. Mick and Sheila gave us advice on places to see in Whitby and their advice was always spot on. We wholeheartedly recommend that if you travel to Whitby, the Middleham should be your place to stay. Excellent location and hosts.

Thanks again Mick and Shiela for an unforgettable experience!!!!!!!

John and Janae

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Middleham Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 91 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay. Sheila and Mick are fantastic hosts. The room we stayed in was lovely , the bed was so big and comfy. Mick's breakfast was great all local products used. Would def recommend , reasonable prices x

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Whilst our room was a little on the teeny side the amount of hooks and space saving gadgets were great. Attention to detail was lovely and the whole guesthouse had a cosy, homely feel. In the dining room was an adjoining lounge with a big tv so had we wanted to overspill from our room it was great to know that there was space for that. Friendly owners and a big squishy dog popped in too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JezebelsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

True to my word, I made a return visit again for this years WGW. Stayed for 3 nights, 1st-3rd November in room 5, twin room with a sea view.

Struggled parking, but I expected this and ended up way over near the park. Once a hassle free check-in had been completed, we were informed that the Leisure Centre Car Park was free parking 24hrs from 1st November-end March. Perfect!! Once the bags were installed, the car was moved and stayed within sight for the remainder of our stay.

There were plenty of hangers in the built in wardrobe for both of us as well as ample bedside and drawer space. The beds were soooo comfortable - I love a hard bed so this was perfect for me. Each night was a fantastic nights sleep with there being no disturbance from other residents or from the streets outside.

Cotton buds, pads, shower cap, shower gel, shampoo, sewing kit and tea/coffee making facilities are all provided, as well as a haridryer. The tea and coffee were replenished daily and the cups were proper mugs. There is a TV in the room also, with the usual freeview channels.

Breakfast is served on the lower ground floor and during our stay this was between 8.30am and 9.30am. (It's normally 8am-9am but noone gets up very early during WGW!!)

There are cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juices to start breakfast with any combination of cooked breakfast you could wish for. Toast will keep on coming if you don't stop Sheila!! The quality of the food served is second to none and the proprieters are friendly and non-evasive.

If you're wanting a quality B&B, with friendly hosts in the amazing town of Whitby, then this is for you!!

We're back again same time next year!

Room Tip: They're either sea view or church view - either way you can't go wrong!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at The Middleham, we had a long weekend last year and loved it so much we booked a week this year. Choose a sea view room for this week. Great view with binoculars provided for you to look out to sea. Room is spotless, huge comfy bed and modern on suite shower. Breakfast is good traditional English that keeps you going all day. Loads of other stuff to choose from as well. Mick & Shelia were made to be B&B hosts. Coming back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yabadabaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just had 2 nights at the Middleham in Whitby. Sheila and Mick will make you very very welcome!
Nothing is too much trouble. This really is a four star B & B!! Beautiful and clean, very comfortable bedrooms and everything you would need from complimentary water to buddies for your ears!! The breakfast is to die for!! Absolutely brilliant!!
We would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Whitby. Couldn't fault it at all!

Room Tip: Room 5 has a lovely view over the promenade to the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoltonSue17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just returned from Whitby and have to say how good the Middleham was. Sheila & Mick could not have been more helpful or friendly. Very comfortable bed, great views of the sea, and very quiet. The breakfast was top quality, well cooked, presented well and plentiful. 10/10 We'll be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddyEdmondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#13 of 20 in Whitby
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#12 of 20 in Whitby
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#56 of 151 in Whitby
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arches Guesthouse
Arches Guesthouse
#26 of 151 in Whitby
479 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 151 in Whitby
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleham Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleham Guest House

Address: 3 Church Square, Whitby YO21 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $102 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middleham Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Middleham Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing