We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A seaside treat!”
Review of The Marine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights in Room Two. We enjoyed a beautiful view over the harbour - because of this, we did hear some noise from the harbour below and the people sat outside the bar. This was not as terrible as other reviewers have made it out to be. Every single member of staff that dealt with us over our two night stay was polite, friendly and helpful. We took advantage of calling for breakfast to be brought to our room both mornings (at no extra charge) and also called down a couple of times for fresh tea and coffee - this was brought up quickly. The room itself is lovely - plenty of space to lounge around. My partner and I decided that for the price we paid we got an awful lot for it. On our first night we ate at the seafood restaurant downstairs - I enjoyed several glasses of Prosecco and the fantastic lobster spaghetti. The hotel itself is centrally located and in walking distance to all of the local Whitby amenities. We drove to Robin Hood's Bay on our second day. A wonderful place to stay, great value for money, fabulous food and very polite staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 504 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Saturday 12th July we set out for our long awaited weekend away to Whitby with friends to celebrate a belated 50th birthday. The Marine hotel stood out for us as it was on the harbor, rooms were fresh and contemporary and very importantly... it had an excellent sea food restaurant. On arrival we parked the car on the harbor car park in the middle of town, 24 hr stay only cost £6.50, we were early so we had breakfast at the newly refurbished hotel.. Wetherspoons- The Angel. We dined on the first floor with balcony patio doors open, it was lovely. Already, Whitby was buzzing with weekend holiday makers. After, we ventured around the old part of town where we had a group photo taken at the Victorian Photographers, this was such good fun! I was in my riding habit complete with top hat and riding crop, my husband was a Russian Hussar. My friend Julie was a lady, wearing a large hat and parasol and her husband was dressed as her fantasy... Sharpy! After a drink we climbed up to the church and Abbey, views were spectacular, there was an eerie fog rolling in from the sea which burned off with the hot sunshine. Time to check in. We were shown to our respective rooms, we had room 3, overlooking the main thoroughfare along the harbor front and the harbor entrance, it was fascinating watching the throngs of people going about the various stalls, bars and amusements. The room itself was tastefully decorated and furnished, nicely spacious and comfortable. Then we went to take a look at our friends accommodation, room 2, this was really quite incredible, with a lounge area overlooking the harbor and an open plan bedroom above along with an outside balcony\seating area to watch the fishermen bringing in their catch.
After some relaxation and a change of attire, we were ready to dine in the hotels sea food restaurant, myself and birthday boy Andy had never tried lobster before, so we had deliberately waited till our Whitby stay to try it for the first time. We ordered the lobster platter for 2- £50. It was a feast fit for a king let me tell you! Two half lobsters, langoustine. giant prawns, oysters and crab. delicious!! My husband had lobster spaghetti and Jue had steak.
A dining experience we wont forget.. another tick.
To digest fully we went for a walk along the harbor visiting the various bars and later to a particular pub called The Black Horse, recommended by a fellow Camra member, very traditional with a good selection in real ales.. the men particularly enjoyed The Black Dog ale, the only pub in town to serve it on draught, we were informed by a friendly local couple who kept us entertained for the evening.
After a comfortable nights sleep we came down for breakfast, the choice was amazing, every taste catered for from fruit, yoghurt, cereals, muffins to full English and Kippers.
We came away wanting to come back for more from Whitby, I thoroughly recommend a stay at The Marine, not only for the accommodation but the fine sea food too. We loved it. x

Room Tip: Its the perfect hotel for town center life, you will hear the busy streets to some extent and the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 731steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed overnight in room 3. The room is nicely decorated and spotless , bathroom very modern and of a good size. Tthe room overlooks the harbour as the hotel is perfectly placed to enjoy the delights of whitby ,this comes at a price .It was very hot during our stay so we had to sleep with the windows open, obviously we then got the incessant noise of the seagulls not a problem! this is a fishing town, but what was a problem was people sat outside the pub across the road [The Pier] talking and shouting . Someone was holding a conversation under our window at 3 .18 am!! I know because there was a digital clock side of bed l.o.l. Brought it up at the reception suggesting that they could invest in some air conditioning so that the windows could remain closed at night.The staff were very friendly and effecient the breakfast was superb, one of the best i have ever had.I had the Haddock, spinach and poached eggs. We also ate at the Marine the previous evening which was also tip top. Review under Marine restaurant.I would have loved to have rated the Marine excellent but like other reviewers i think tea and coffee should be available in the rooms bearing in mind it is very expensive to stay here. Find it bit strange that the owners have not given their reasons for this on trip advisor in that people book establishments through trip advisor comments . This is certainly the case as far as i am concened.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbb1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Room 2 is gorgeous. Spotlessly clean and excellent service... But no tea and coffee facilities. A big error in my opinion. Rang down to order a coffee and it was brought up quickly but it was a small cup. Either provide facilities in the room or offer a posh thermos. No flannels or bathrobes in bathroom again poor given the price. The carpet on the mezzanine floor is matting and very uncomfortable on aching feet. Take slippers. Room is noisy but not the fault of the hotel it's the compromise for the stunning views of the harbour. This is so close to being perfect. Hope the owners take note.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank BexH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I stayed at the Marine for two nights and everything was excellent. The room was well equipped, comfortable and clean. Nice views although I think room one has the best views.
The hotel has been decorated to a high standard and adds a little class within the homely Victorian resort.
Service was friendly and excellent.
Breakfast menu choice was also very good.
I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mushy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay here. The staff and restaurant in the lobby area were both great. The views from our room were exceptional . Everything is within walking distance. Our room had a loft as well as a small but quant balcony. If you need a place to stay in Whitby, I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muzzlepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We've booked into room 5, above the Moon and Sixpence. So, so brilliant. The staff were very
accommodating. I asked for an extra bed in our room for our daughter. Staff were so friendly on the phone, despite it being a busy time of day. The staff member was helpful and warm. Great start.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank RowCCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,229 reviews
0 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
476 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 13 Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: $140 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Whitby
The Marine Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing